Arequipa.

It’s almost January, but my doors are open to let in the breeze and the sunshine, and I’ve got on shorts, flip-flops, and a tiny bit of a leftover sunburn.  This isn’t Bogotá or Mississippi, that’s for sure.

My blog went stale, and in the meantime I moved to the other side of the equator.

Obviously, I haven’t done a great job of documenting that whole process, which I am sure I am going to regret later.  But for the past several months, the priority has been SURVIVAL, and sometimes writing it all down just doesn’t make the cut.  Unfortunately.

But here we are, starting a new adventure in beautiful Arequipa, Peru, and I guess I should get myself up to date.

Back in the summer, the discussion started among the families on our team and our missions agency about the possibility of making the transition from Bogotá to Peru earlier than we had originally planned.  Nate and I were actually in Cali, Colombia for our adoption travel call when it all started.  We were meeting Luís and experiencing an intense emotional whirlwind within our own family, so all of the details and specifics about when we would move to Peru were the farthest thing from my mind.

As the decision to move in December was made, I was still neck-deep in chaos at home with Luís and the twins, so anything beyond the current day was too much to think about.  “Just tell me when to get on the plane,” I told them.    And really, until the time came to start packing up the house, I just didn’t worry about it….which is weird, because normally I’m the type that gets so excited about things like this that I scour the internet and spend a ridiculous amount of time thinking and planning and daydreaming about the new place.   But this time, I told myself, I would discover it when I got there, and that would have to be good enough.

To sum up, we sold or gave away almost everything during the month of November.  We held on to our beds, some clothes, and a couple of small items and loaded them up in a container to be shipped to Arequipa.  On December 2, we moved out of our little townhouse in Bogotá and into the same missionary guest house that we had stayed in when we first moved to Colombia 15 months before. We spent a week saying goodbyes and finishing up last minute things, then on the 11th we flew to Lima, Peru, where we started our visa process (which had some hangups and will have to be done again).  On December 18th, we finally touched down in Arequipa with 4 trunks, 1 duffel bag, and 4 carry-ons.  (Plus 2 other families and all their stuff, too.)

all 17 of us heading to the airport!
Leaving Bogotá…all 17 of us heading to the airport!

We got in late after dark, so I couldn’t see anything.  Nate kept telling me that the volcano, Misti, that towers over the city was RIGHT THERE, and that I would be shocked when I woke up in the morning and actually got a look at the city around me.  He was right.  This was my view when I looked out the front door the next morning:

486669_10101519534852155_2022449114_n

Arequipa is unbelievably different from Bogotá, in every way imaginable.  And it might be a desert, but the sandy mountains, amazing volcano, and warm sunshine make it stunningly beautiful.

We’re staying in a furnished rental apartment for a month or so while we hunt for housing and a car, and hopefully we will be able to start setting up a house sometime in January or February.  

In the meantime, I’m going to get started on finding out all the cool things about this city that I had put on the back-burner for the past few months.  So far, I can tell you that this desert city is breathtaking.  Beautiful views.  Amazing weather.  Friendly people.  Yummy food.  

I think I’m going to enjoy the discovery.   

2 thoughts on “Arequipa.

  1. I pray that one day we will be able to be shown around the country by your family while volunteering to do some short term mission work of our own :) Prayers are constantly being lifted on your behalf!

Leave a Reply

