Still Waiting.

We’ve entered a new stage in this whole waiting-for-our-adoption process, and I can honestly say that it is the hardest one yet.  The wait was killing me before, but now it’s brutal.

For the past several weeks, we’ve basically been at the end of the paperwork and approval part.  We’ve gotten all of the approvals necessary from the US and Colombian governments, and now we’re just waiting on the phone call.  The one telling us when we can go get Luís.

We’re so close.  So incredibly close.

We hope to travel soon, but we still don’t know when that will be.   Our sweet boy will turn 4 on July 28th, and I am praying that we will get to spend his birthday with him.  Because honestly, I just can’t stomach the thought of another birthday spent in an orphanage.

I’m learning to trust in new ways, all over again.  These months-old scribbled pages about the Lord’s perfect timing, sovereignty, providence and FAITHFULNESS are once again getting alot of use:

wait on the lord journal page

It’s hard because I wake up every single morning and wonder if this is the day they’ll say, “Yes. GO GET HIM!”    …if I’ll have plane tickets booked by the time I go to bed tonight…  If my mental countdown to the moment we meet him will begin today.

I wonder if they’ve started telling him about us yet.

We sent him a box of things so his caretakers could start preparing him for the transition, which thankfully they take very seriously here in Colombia.  Among a few other things, it had little a photo album with pictures of our family (including Roja the spanish-speaking hamster), a blanket and 2 stuffed animals identical to the ones the twins have and love so much, and a video of us introducing ourselves and the boys running around showing Luís his new house, room, bed, and toys.  At some point they’ll start showing him these things, teaching him to say Mamá and Papá and the names of his new brothers.  They’ll help him to start recognizing our faces from the photos, and tell him all about his new family. 

I wonder if he’s seen my face yet.

The bed in my guest room has already started accumulating the packing piles.  The suitcases have already been pulled out of the attic space.  The swimsuits and sunscreen and shorts and flipflops necessary for hot weather are already set aside and ready to go.

I just need a date.  But we’re still waiting.  And trusting.  And waiting.

“But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.  The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you…” 2 Peter 3:8-9

3 thoughts on “Still Waiting.

  1. I’m at home. in a new city where I don’t yet have a job or a ton of friends…so I pray a lot, and I am glad to have a cause (adoption) and a family (Y’ALL) to keep in my prayers! I will be filling my prayers with your names often :)

    prayers for a 4th birthday at his new home!

Leave a Reply

