My new normal.

Since we moved to Bogotá, time seems to have gotten all weird on me.   I’m not sure what’s happening, but I’m pretty sure I have less hours in my day here.  I look at my daily/weekly routine, and it doesn’t seem like it’s overly full. But then I look up and realize that two weeks just passed and I have no idea where the time went.   I’m pretty sure learning español is screwing with my head.

Because of all of that, I tend to get really behind on writing and posting pictures about our every day life in Bogotá.  So lately I’ve found that, for the day-to-day stuff, it is easier and quicker to post them on instagram and facebook, and I’ll use the blog more for writing and general catch-ups.  We’ll see if that works a little better.

For now, here’s a little glimpse into my “new normal…”

SCHOOL.   We are still in language school for several hours every day (for the next year or so), and while I enjoy it, it has basically opened up my eyes to the fact that I HAVE SO MUCH TO LEARN.  How long will it be before I can have conversations with new people without having to request “más despacio, por favor!”  (“more slowly, please!”)   Right now I can only speak in present tense…so I say things like, “yesterday we go to the store after class.”    And I get lots of similar words mixed up, like when I told the nanny that “I need extra coffee this morning because I am very married.”   She was confused.  Fyi, married is casado, tired is cansado.  or vice-versa…I don’t know.  I can’t keep them straight.  I accidentally tell people all the time that, “I don’t know why, but  I’m just so married this morning.”   Oh well, at least I can COMMUNICATE, even if my spanish is worse than my 2-year-olds’ english.  It might not sound great, but at this point I’m thankful for the small vocabulary I’ve got.

CHURCH.  We go to a small church called Cristo Rey.  The people are really, really sweet and very patient with our terrible spanish.  They are also really encouraging.  Each week they ask us the same few questions when we arrive, and each week I can elaborate a little more with my answer.  They always cheer me on and say, “you’ve learned so much spanish this week! You’re doing so well!”  There’s a good chance they’re just making me feel better, but it always gives me the boost I need to go back to school on Monday morning.  The boys are also doing better and better about sitting quietly in church, although we still have a ways to go.   Each week they are a little better behaved than the week before, which means each week I can concentrate a little more on understanding the sermon.  (I still have a ways to go in that area, too!)  I’m really thankful for our little church, and as our ability to communicate increases, I think we’ll end up making some good friends there.

NEIGHBORHOOD.  Speaking of friends, I have been able to start talking a bit to a few of the people who live in our complex.  There are two ladies (both are grandmothers who stay at home with a young grandchild during the day) named Obdulia and Margarita that I have started to get to know a little.  It’s not much yet, but I have really enjoyed the little bit of time I’ve spent with them so far.  Thankfully, they are very patient with my fumbling spanish!!  Obdulia’s granddaughter is named Maria Camila, and she is a bit younger than Noah and Barrett.  They play with her at the park nearly every day, and they have started to become sweet little friends.  Obdulia has invited us to go with them to a nearby mall with a petting zoo and playground, and I hope we can do it soon.    The other woman, Margarita, lives 3 doors down, and she has told me several times that she’s so happy we’re here and to call her if I ever need anything.  When I told her we would be here for 2 years, she was excited and said she hopes we get to spend more time together.  I’m praying that will be the case!  I’m really thankful for these two ladies and their willingness to begin building a relationship with me.

THE NEW NINERA.  Our new niñera, Adriana, is working out well.   She is very intentional with the kids, which I really like.  Almost every day, she comes with a new fun project for them to work on.   They are always doing crafts, painting, or playing new games.  She always has fun spanish kids music playing in the house, and the kids have started learning lots of little spanish songs and games.  She’s very intentional about teaching them the language, so they are picking up on new words and phrases every day.  She’s also a great cook, and she says she’s more than willing to teach me…..and I need all the help I can get!!  She definitely has a completely different personality than Deisy, but so far it is working out well.  She has been with us for 3 weeks or so now, and  we are starting to get into a good routine.

So those are the biggies these days. Overall, things are good.  We are enjoying Bogotá like I thought we would.  I really like the city and the lifestyle, but I also really miss my friends and family.  Right now, that’s the hardest part for me …all the people who are no longer  a part of my every day.  I’m hoping that as they start to come visit and get a glimpse of what my “new normal” looks like, it will help me to feel a little more connected.  For now, it’s hard knowing that none of the people I’m closest too back home know much about my every-day life.

So basically what I’m saying is this:  Yes, I’m going to keep you updated one way or another, but I would MUCH RATHER you hop on a plane, come hug my neck, and let me show you all of this first hand.   How’s that sound?

 
2 thoughts on “My new normal.

  1. Hahaha! I always mixed up casado & cansado too — but not anymore! My Mexican friend explained that casado comes from casa dos, two people making a house together. (Plus, caN sado has an “N” for I Need a Nap in it!)

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

