Deisy

I want to introduce you to a woman I pray for every single day.  I met her 4 weeks ago today, but I’ve been praying for her alot longer than that.  And by “prayed for her,” I mean that I prayed FOR her.   I prayed that God would send her to me, even though I had no idea who she was yet.

Her name is Deisy, and she just might be the biggest blessing I’ve received in Bogota to date.

From the beginning, Nate and I knew that we would prefer to have someone stay home with our children while we were in language school rather than send them to daycare.   I wasn’t too thrilled about the idea of not being home with my boys all day like I have been for the past 2 years, but I know that learning the language is essential for my future in ministry, and I am committed to it.  Plus, language school is only for a short time, relatively speaking.  Since it is not expensive here, we felt strongly that a nanny-type scenario would be the way to go.  But what do you do when you have no idea who to hire, how to find someone, and can’t even communicate in their language?  We were a few weeks from departing for Colombia, and I had no idea where to start.

So I prayed.

A few people from the team in Bogota said they were going to start asking around about ladies who might be willing to help with our kids and the Kines kids, and they’d let us know what they found.  And we prayed that they would find some leads.

Then they said that they had a couple of leads, so they were going to do some interviews and look at having someone already lined up to start the very next day after we arrived in Bogota.  And I got a little nervous about landing in Bogota at 9pm on Tuesday night and leaving my children with someone I’d never met who didn’t speak English at 9am on Wednesday morning.

So I prayed some more, and I asked a few others to pray about it with me.  I prayed that the leads would lead to the perfect person for us to hire, that she would be so great with the kids that they wouldn’t mind being left with her on our very first day in the country, and that I would have a peace about the whole thing.  I prayed that this woman, whoever she was, would love my kids and love the Lord even more.

Then I got an email with a name, a picture, and some basic information about two different ladies who the team had hired on a trial basis to help us and the Kines the first two weeks.  I finally had a name and a face to match with my prayers.

September 19th came, and I met her in person…a mere 12 hours after we landed on the ground in Colombia.  She walked in the first day with a sweet smile and tons of energy.  She plopped down on the floor with the boys and started playing with their trains right along with them.  I had someone help me communicate the boys’ basic routine with her and gave her a few instructions, then I told the boys goodbye.  They didn’t even notice I was leaving.  As far as they were concerned, a super-fun friend had just walked in and volunteered to give them her undivided attention, and that was good enough for them.    When I came home later that day and asked if they’d had fun, they jumped up and down and said, “YEAH!!! again? again?”

In the days since, things have only gotten better.   Deisy chases them around the house, crawls under their beds to hide with them, participates in the roaring contests, and spends hours with them at the park.  They wake up in the morning asking, “Deisy coming?” and give her big slobbery goodbye kisses before she leaves in the afternoon.  At bedtime when we say, “Boys, who do you want to pray for tonight?”…there’s a good chance the answer will be “Deisy!”  My boys love her.

But she’s more than just the niñera, she’s becoming a friend.  Our ability to communicate with each other is getting better now that she knows a bit of English and I know a bit of Spanish.  We do alot of charades and hand motions, but we make it work.   The day we moved in, she helped me unpack all of my clothes during naptime, and we had a few hours to talk while the kids slept in the next room.  She asked me about how I became a Christian and told me her story as well, and I silently thanked the Lord for a woman who, in the first real, non-kid-related conversation we ever had, wanted to hear about my faith and my family back at home.

Deisy has now been with us for 4 weeks, and she’s at the top of my prayer list every morning.  I pray for her relationship with my kids, for her relationship with me, for her relationship with the Lord.   I thank God that in this huge city of 10 million people, God knew exactly which one we needed.  He sent us Deisy.

***

Will you join us in praying for Deisy?  She is 31 years old, single, and lives with her mother, brothers, niece and nephew.  She travels two and a half hours each morning on a crowded bus to get to our house.  She is very involved with her church, works with the youth, and hopes to eventually go back to college to finish her law degree.  Please join us in praying for her family, her future, and her relationship with us and our boys.  

5 thoughts on “Deisy

  1. deisy is now on my permanent prayer list, just like all of y’all have been!

    blessings!
    ro
    heeb 13:14-15 (nas)….8-)

Leave a Reply

