NYC bound…

Long Island City

This coming Sunday, my 3 favorite boys and I will board a plane bound for NYC.  32 days in The Big Apple.   We’re headed up there for something called Cross Cultural Ministry Internship, or CCMI, which is a one-month-long training held by our missions agency (MTW) to help prepare us for the field.   This is the last big training we have to do before we go….which means that when we’re finished, we are cleared to leave for Colombia as soon as we have our money raised.

I’m not exactly sure what to expect in NYC.   I know a few details, like the fact that our time will be split between classroom training, church ministry in a cross-cultural context, and various “assignments.”   I know that we’re living in a 2-bedroom apartment in Long Island City.  (Although the Kines will be staying in a different part of town.)  But for the most part, I have no clue what we’re doing.

So I’m packing for a month of I-don’t-know-what.  That’s not easy.  The apartment we’re staying in is owned by Bethel College and is used to house their art interns, kind of like a dorm…which means we need to bring all of our own sheets, towels, blankets, pillows, etc.  Plus bedrails for the boys, because they’ll be in twin beds.   I’m really trying hard to pack light, but I’m thinking I should just toss that idea out the window, because it’s not gonna happen.  Maybe I can make up for it by only packing a few outfits and doing lots of laundry.  Any packing experts out there?  Cause I might need some help!

But overall, I’m pretty excited about New York.  We’ll have weekends off, so we will be able to do some sight-seeing.  Plus we’ll be there with LOTS of other missionaries (49 adults and 41 children, plus the trainers/mentors), who are all in the same crazy phase of transition that we’re in.  There are even a few folks headed to Colombia with us that we haven’t gotten the chance to meet yet!   I’m excited about serving in a church that looks a lot different than what I’m used to.  I’m excited to get a taste of big-city life with no car, which is what we’ll have in Bogota.

I’m also excited that our apartment has internet access, because it means that I can post lots of pictures and videos here on the blog.  Since I’ll actually be in ONE PLACE for an entire month, and my evenings won’t be full of packing and sorting to prepare for Colombia, I’ll actually have some time to post all about what we’re doing and experiencing while we’re there.  Maybe we’ll even get to relax a little (:

In the meantime, please pray for us this week as we run around trying to get ready to go, and of course throughout next month as we go through training.   One more thing checked off the list, and one more step closer to Bogota!!

2 thoughts on “NYC bound…

  1. Hi, Nikki! I just wanted to leave one suggestion. I saw somewhere that you could put pool noodles under the fitted sheet to keep toddlers from falling out of bed. I haven’t tried it, but it might work. Then you wouldn’t need to pack bed rails, you could pack a couple of those or even see about buying them once in NYC. Have fun and I look forward to reading about your adventures!

  2. Anything that you haven’t packed (or don’t want to pack) and find out you need, let me know. We are only two hours away and can bring whatever you need to you :) Hoping to see you at least one of the weekends you are there! Love to the whole family!!!

Leave a Reply

