The numbers

Hey, do you remember me? My name is Nikki and I used to be a blogger.  But then a little thing called support-raising happened and I fell off the face of the planet.  I create blog posts in my head all the time, but unfortunately you can only read the things I actually type into the computer, and not the things floating around in my brain, so mental blogging doesn’t really count.  If it did, though, I’d  be a blogging rockstar.

Most days, though, I just can’t make it happen.  I try, I promise. And I want to write all of this down so I can remember it, because one of these days when I’m a seasoned missionary with the chance to encourage some newbie missionary wife who is in the middle of the support-raising hurricane, I want to be able to tell her, “I remember being where you are.  I remember what it was like.  And turning into a crazy maniac is normal, so don’t worry.”  But the key to being able to encourage someone like that is being able to actually remember what it was like…and right now I don’t trust my brain with even simple tasks, so I’m not expecting my memory to be that accurate.   Which means I need to WRITE IT DOWN, dadgum it!

So here goes.

Nate sent out our June newsletter a couple weeks ago, and in it he listed a quick rundown of “The Numbers.”  I thought I’d share them with you here, and since I’m the “talker” of the two of us, I’ll give you the long version.

In the 25 weeks thus far of 2012, we have…

  • visited 21 different churches for worship…each one with a different nursery for the boys.  They haven’t been to the same nursery 2 weeks in a row since before Christmas.  And now we’re trying to get them used to sitting in worship with us, which is …interesting... since we aren’t in a consistent setting for them to learn it.  This past Sunday Barrett leaned back in his chair, flipped the whole thing upside down, and landed on his head on the floor with the chair on top of him.  During the service.  It was awesome.
  • particpated in 13 different missions conferences… which all happened to be 13 weeks in a row.  By God’s grace, we didn’t have to turn down a single conference, because they all happened to be consecutive weeks.  He worked out our calendar perfectly, and we were so blessed to be able to participate in each of them.  But I’m not gonna lie…taking two toddlers to 13 three-day conferences in a row will wear a mama out.
  • assembled 400+ informational packets by hand (including burning DVDs one at a time)…  I can peel and stick DVD labels like a CHAMP, man.  It should be an Olympic sport, because I have got this whole information-packet-stuffing thing down to an ART.  I could do it with my eyes closed.
  • driven 7,000 miles to visit churches (that is like driving from New York to Los Angeles, TWICE)… With the Cars DVD playing in the backseat for every single one of those miles.  I don’t need to watch the movie anymore, because I can recite the whole thing from memory.  It plays in my dreams at night. We have recently gotten them (FINALLY) to broaden their movie horizons to include “Memo” (Finding Nemo) and “Buzz Woody” (Toy Story), which is a feat worth celebrating, because I desperately needed some variety in my movie-listening.  The boys can now do a 7 hour road trip with only one 10-minute stop for gas, a diaper change, & a drive-through without thinking twice about it.  That is SAD, and I am looking forward to the fact that I won’t own a car in Bogota and they won’t have to be strapped in car seats for a very long time.  Two-year-olds should not think their carseat is their 2nd home, and at the moment mine do.
  • eaten fast food 1 MILLION times while road-tripping…yet I could count the number of times I’ve gone to the gym on one hand.  Those two things don’t balance well.   I used to go to the gym 4 or 5 days a week. Now my routine has been shot to Hades and I go zero days a week, and my energy level is reflecting it.  As is my flab level.  Just bein’ honest.
  • flown 6,500 miles... although the rest of the team did one of those trips without me so my flight mileage number is a little lower than that. But who’s counting?

Nate also wrote up a list of numbery things that are coming up in the next few weeks, but I’ll just direct you to the newsletter if you want to see those as well.

So we’ve had a busy few months, and we’ve got a few more weeks to go.  We just got back in town from a training in Chattanooga, and we have a week and a half until we head to New York City for 32 days.   We’ll be gone from July 1 to August 1 for a month-long missionary training required by our agency.  And hopefully, if we have all of our support raised, we’ll be moving to Bogota by the end of August.

It’s happening.  Things are gearing up for the move.  We’re knocking out our Pre-Bogota To-Do list like madmen.  Maybe I’ll do a post on that too, just so I can remember the chaos.  Or maybe I’d rather block it out.  All I know is that I’m glad there’s a light at the end of the tunnel, because I cannot operate at this level for much longer!

The slow pace of Latin American life? Yes, please!!

One thought on “The numbers

  1. WOW!! That’s all I got. Incredible. Got that one, too.

    I do NOT pray for you guys nearly enough. Promise to do better.

Leave a Reply

