Dos.

Today the boys are two.  TWO.  They’re almost fully grown.  Practically adults.  Basically old enough to go to college and get married and leave me forever.  I might be in a bit of denial, but I can’t tell for sure.  All I know is that I need time to stop immediately so that I can get as much out of the little years as possible.

Since our life pretty much revolves around our impending move to Colombia, we figured that a little latin birthday fiesta was fitting.  But I don’t know how to cook Colombian food, and I have never actually been to a Colombian party, so we had to kind of wing it and go with whatever we could find that seemed fiesta-ish….which meant it more closely resembled a Mexican fiesta than a Colombian one.  But those are just details, right? (:

We knew we would be gone on their actual birthday (today), so we had the party yesterday instead.  They had a great time splashing around with their little friends, clobbering a pinata, and chowing down on some good ol’ latin fiesta food…aka tacos, chips & salsa, and Emily’s famous homemade guacamole.  Oh, and green cupcakes with bugs on top, because that’s how toddler boys roll, and they think bugs are awesome.

It’s almost like neither of them are aware of the giant donkey pinata on Josh’s head. Apparently this is normal.

It was a fun party, although I was exhausted by the time I got home last night.  But I didn’t have much time to rest and recover, because we had to load up and leave by 7:30am to make it to church in Louisville, MS this morning.  (Our latest destination on our support-raising adventure.)   It’s hard to do a breakfast birthday celebration when you’re in a big rush to leave town, but we stuck candles in the muffins, sang “happy birthday,” opened a few gifts, and hit the road with a few minutes to spare.

birthday muffins!

So we traveled most of the day, made new friends in Louisville, had a visit from Nanny and Granddaddy, Skyped with Mammaw and Pappaw, and ordered pizza for supper.   Despite the fact that we didn’t do anything remarkable, I think the boys had a fun day.

And now I have two-year-olds.

Whoa.

2 thoughts on “Dos.

Leave a Reply

