sixty five percent.

Hey, did I tell you we’re going on the mission field?

Just kidding. I think I might have mentioned it a time or two…hundred.  Sorry bout that, but it’s kind of taking over my whole life right now, and between that, our adoption, and the twins, you have a 1 in 3 chance of accurately predicting the topic of any upcoming blog post.   Because that’s my life these days.

I emailed our schedule for the next 3 months to my family, and I almost fell asleep while writing it out….just looking at it exhausted me that much.  (FYI: I hate it when people talk about how busy they are all the time, because it’s almost as annoying as this, but in this case, I can’t help it.)

But I know I’m in good company, because every single missionary I know who is in the support-raising process is doing the exact same thing.  It’s just part of the job.  Support-raising will wear you smack out.

We are traveling for part of almost every single week between now and the end of April…  which means hauling the boys and their pack-n-plays all over tarnation and praying that I’ll be somewhere at 1pm every afternoon that is conducive to a nap.  I’ll tell you how all that works out.

But the plus side is that we get to spend all that time doing something that we LOVE… telling people about missions.  Talking to people and churches about the awesome things God is doing in Latin America and inviting them to come be a part of it.  Telling the stories of how the Lord called each of us (me, Nate, Emily, and Josh) to full-time mission work. Getting people EXCITED about the Great Commission. 

That’s worth being a little tired, right?  I’d say so.

And hopefully, in the midst of all of that, people will get excited enough to give us money…because we can’t go until we’re fully funded.  Talking about missions is the easy part.  Asking for money is a little harder.  But it’s necessary, and it’s a way for others who can’t physically go to get involved.  And we are all called to be involved in the spread of the Gospel around the world.

Right now our team is at about 65%.  We need another 35% raised before we can leave, which is why we’re traveling to meet with churches and individuals who are interested in what we’re doing and might be willing to be a part of it.

Did you know that, in this economy, most missionaries get the majority of their support from individual people and families and not from churches?  That’s true for us.  And we need more people to help us get our last 35%.

If you read this blog and keep up with us on a regular basis, will you consider supporting us monthly?   If you’ve been thinking about it but haven’t done it yet, now is a great time to jump on board. Because until we have 100% of our monthly budget covered in support pledges, we can’t go to the field.  (And we really really really want to go!)

In addition to emailing/texting/commenting/facebooking me…here’s how you can learn a little more about how to support us: http://crosscollaboration.org/partner-with-us/

*****

(*Note:  I have no control over the advertisements that show up at the bottom of each post. They are automatically generated by my blogging platform, and I cannot turn them off without paying a yearly fee. My apologies!) 

Leave a Reply

