Read this book.

“You need to read this book.”

That’s not something I hear from my husband very often.  For most of the 10 years we’ve been together, I hardly ever saw him pick up a book.  Then came seminary, and I hardly ever saw him put down a book…although he swore that as soon as he graduated, he’d never read again.

Well he graduated in May, and he still picks up a book every night before bed.

Folks, I’m married to a reader.  I didn’t originally marry a reader, but I’m married to one now.  Funny how people change.

But we read different stuff.  Very different.  And most of the time, our choices don’t overlap.   So when he looks at me and says, for the third time in a week, “You need to read this book,”  I know I’m going to read it.

Add to the fact that it’s a book on marriage given to me by my husband, who is telling me how good it is, and I think any woman on the planet would have the same reaction.  Put down what I’m reading, and pick up that book instead.

So I read it. And (electronically) highlighted all through it. And I gave it to my sister for Christmas.  And I’m about to read it again.

And then Nate and I are going to sit down and talk all through it (although he doesn’t know that yet) because it’s such a gospel-soaked look at marriage that I want to wrap my brain around as much of it as possible.

I would do a review, but there’s no point because Tim Challies wrote one that’s much better and more exhaustive than I could ever write, so I’ll just direct you there.  But suffice it to say that if you are married, you should read this book.  If you’re engaged, you should read this book.  If you are single, you should read this book.  I could go on, but I won’t.  Just check out Challies’ review, then read this book.

[The Meaning of Marriage by Tim and Kathy Keller.]

One thought on “Read this book.

Leave a Reply

