Little Drummer Boy (dpp17)

Today Nate and I decided to divide and conquer – each of us took a kid for the afternoon.  I had errands to run, so I loaded up Barrett and took him with me.  Nate was getting some work done at home, so Noah bobbled behind him as his helper.  It’s so much easier to get things done with only one toddler in tow, so on busy days, this is an easy solution.

One of the things on my list of errands was to stop by OEC (Japanese restaurant) and pick up another batch of their salad dressing, which Nate is absolutely addicted to (and per Nate’s request, “maybe a spicy crawfish sushi roll if you have time.)

So the Bear and I waited on the order, and he took it upon himself to entertain the place.  I gave him a set of chopsticks, which he immediately thought were drum sticks, and he went to town.

He played the drums on the floor, my purse, the chair legs, the chair seats, the table tops, his shoes…whatever would make a beat.  And he danced.  And sang.  And asked what everything was (“whats this? what’s this? what’s this?”)

And asked where Noah was about 100 times. (“Nonah? Nonah?”)

Thankfully it was 3:30 in the afternoon and the place was practically empty, so I wasn’t too concerned.  Plus he was being hilarious, so I just laughed and went along with it.    I think he had fun being on an errand date with his mama, even if it only consisted of the post office, cvs, the grocery store, and OEC.

Me too, bud.  Me too.

drum solo

Leave a Reply

