December Photo Project (Day 1)

For the last few years, I’ve jumped into the December Photo Project on the Tredways’ blog.   Basically, you take pictures through the holiday season and post 1 picture each day for the month of December.   (Although I only do it through Christmas day, because we’re usually out of town the week after Christmas.)  

I love it, because it helps me remember to document the Christmas season each year, and it means that I get fun pictures in the process.  Plus, after a month of heavy posts, this is a great way to lighten things up.

Although this year I’m a day late…because that’s just how it is sometimes.

So here’s the first one:

This year we’re participating in the Jesse Tree Christmas Ornament exchange at our church. Everyone who signed up was assigned an ornament to make, then made enough copies of that ornament to pass out 1 to each person.  At the end of the exchange, everyone in the group had a full set of Jesse Tree ornaments.

Each ornament corresponds with a day of Advent, and each night, we will hang that day’s ornament and read the corresponding devotion from this book.  (We’re hanging them out of reach on the,mantle garland instead of the tree to make sure curious little hands or mischievous paws don’t take them down and carry them off!)

Last night was Day 1, which had this ornament representing Creation.

I am so excited to be starting this tradition with our family.  I’m thrilled to have a set of Advent ornaments made by my friends at my home church to take with me to Costa Rica.  And I’m looking forward to celebrating Advent in a purposeful way in our home this year!

One thought on “December Photo Project (Day 1)

Leave a Reply

