Growing our family.

I’m sure this comes as no surprise, considering the fact that we haven’t really been keeping it a secret, but Nate and I have some news.  Our family is getting bigger.

(But this time my belly won’t be.)

Nate and I are in the process of bringing home our next batch of kiddos, and this time we’re doing it through adoption.  From Costa Rica!

We have known for about 5 years now that adoption was a part of our story, long before we ever started trying to have children biologically.   We have always desired a mixed family of both biological and adopted children, and we are thrilled that after years of praying, we have finally felt God urging us to get started.  So we have begun the process of bringing our child (but very possibly 2 siblings) home.

Even though we started the process months ago, we still have a long way to go, because Costa Rican adoption takes 2-3 years to complete. We probably won’t be finished until sometime in 2013. That’s a long time to be “paper pregnant.”  And by starting now, we will hopefully be finished with the process before our 2 years of training in Costa Rica is over and we move to our permanent Latin American location.

You might be wondering, why now? Why jump into something now when you’re in the middle of support raising and moving to the field? 

Well, the simple answer is this:  We’ve been praying for the green light about adoption for about 5 years.  We have been praying for the green light for missions for about 7 years.  We never in a million years thought that God was going to say “go” to both of those at the same time.  But He did.  And when God says “go,” we do.

We know this is going to be hard.  We know it is going to be stressful.  We know that bringing in one or two more children (not babies) into our family will not be easy.  We know that there’s a high likelyhood that learning spanish, adjusting to a new culture, helping our boys transition to Latin America, and bonding with one or two new children who speak a different language is going to send me to the crazy house.

But I don’t care. I trust God for those things.  I trust that He is going to hold me through the hard parts.  That if he calls us to do something hard, he will give us the grace to rest in Him through the process.  And I trust Him when he says, “They are waiting on you. Go get them.”

So pray for us as we work to grow our family.  Pray for our emotional journey.  Pray for the boys to be “ready” when the time comes to be big brothers or little brothers or both…or however the birth order will be. And pray for the child(ren) that God has chosen for us to parent…because s/he is already out there somewhere, waiting.

And we’re ready to bring them home.

10 thoughts on “Growing our family.

  1. So exciting. I hope when I come visit you in CR, I get to meet them!! I have LOVED your whole adoption series….I have known since I was a child that I would adopt, but I don’t think I have been actively thinking of how I should be preparing and praying now since I am not even married or at a placed where I can adopt yet…but you have challenged me to research more and definitely pray more! AND I will be praying for y’all! Such exciting news!

  2. We will be praying. God grows families in different ways and I am so glad you and Nate don’t think of adoption as a “second” choice. It ranks right up there with birthing a baby as far as I am concerned. You guys are/will be great parents, a true blessing to all your children. I love how you trust God with the details. The other day, someone told me “If you want to make God laugh, just make some plans”. I don’t really think that is how it works, but taking one step at a time; trusting and waiting for Him, will give you joy and peace along the way.

  3. So excited for you all! What an incredible journey you are on and I cannot wait to see God glorified through every step of the way because of your faithfulness to His calling.

  4. How exciting! Y’all are on such an incredible journey and are definitely being used by God. Thank you for opening up your life and sharing it with us. I’ve always felt called to adoption as well, but like you said, I’m still waiting for the green light. Who knows when that will be, but it still warms my heart so much to see so many of my friends going through that adventure/journey themselves and knowing that when the time comes for us, there will be others who can relate.

  5. Blessings to you on your journey of expanding your family. We have both biological and adoptive children. The challenges you will face in the waiting/journey to adoption AND in bringing home your child/children will be many. Surround yourself with prayer supporters…and read up on attachment issues. A book I’ve found helpful is “Parenting your Internationally adopted Child.” My upcoming book “Nine Year Pregnancy” unveils not only our story of waiting, but also tells about getting our daughter and the early years at home.
    Blessings,
    Delana
    http://delanasworld.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/a-season-of-waiting/
    http://nineyearpregnancy.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/worth-it-all/
    http://delanasworld.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/parenting-the-internationally-adopted-child/

  6. I think this new baby or babies will be a blessing to all of us. Happy for you and will pray that all the red tape can be done fast. We know it is in God’s hands so the best solution is assured.

Leave a Reply

