November.

These days, it seems like every month is National Something-or-other Month.  I mean, this month alone is supposedly National Novel Writing Month, National Epilepsy Awareness Month, National Pomegranate Month, National Peanut Butter Lovers Month, and International Drum Month, just to name a few.  Seriously. Look it up.

And there are a few monthly observances that are actual presidential proclamations…the “official” observances, if you will.  Most of those observances don’t really fall under topics that I often discuss on this blog.

Except for one.

November is National Adoption Month.   

I’m not going to blog every single day this month about Adoption, but I plan to do a few posts about it.  Partly because it is something I feel intimately tied to.  Partly because it is the call of every Christian and church to care for orphans in one way or another  (James 1:27, Deut 10:17-19, Psalm 82:3 Isaiah 1:17, to name a few).  Partly because it’s the greatest, tangible example my heart can understand about what it means to become a child of God.

I love adoption because I am adopted.  Legally by my earthly daddy.  Spiritually and eternally by my heavenly one.

I know lots of people who have thought about adoption, toyed with the idea, wondered how to find out more about it,  or showed the slightest bit of interest that I pray might one day grow into something more.  Something beautiful.   And in hopes that some of those people, friends or strangers, might somehow stumble upon my blog and be bitten by the adoption bug, I’m going to post some thoughts and resources this month.

I’ll start with this book: Adopted for Life by Russell Moore.    

I’ve posted about it before, so if you want to know a little more about it from my perspective, click here.  But if you are at all interested in learning more about adoption, this is a great place to start.  It’s not a practical, how-to book.  It’s a book about the idea. The “why” behind it all.  If you wonder whether God is calling you to welcome an orphan into your family as one of your own, read this book.  Then let me know what you think.

Happy Adoption Month (:

Leave a Reply

