Blog Showcase

I have a tab at the top of my blog called “Blogs I Love.”  If you click on that, you’ll find a big list of all sorts of blogs (and a couple of websites) that I love and read regularly.  And while a list is great, it’s not going to give you many details or convince you to actually go click on one of those links.

So I thought I’d showcase one or two occasionally…just to explain why I like that particular blog and to convince you to give it a read if you’re so inclined.

(And just to let you know, nobody has asked to be “showcased.”  If I talk about a blog here, I’m doing it just because I want to, and in most cases, the person I’m featuring has no idea that I’m going to do it.  But I’ll make sure I tell them, and hopefully they’ll take it as a compliment and won’t think I’m a stalker.  I’ll let you know how that goes.)  

I figured I’d start with one that I have really loved alot lately.  If you’re not reading Burning Bushes: Seeing Jesus in my every day,” you should be.

I have no idea how I came upon this blog to begin with.  I can’t remember how long I’ve been reading it… 9 months, maybe a year.  I don’t know.  And to be honest, I don’t know anything about the girl who writes it.  She’s vague about her identity, but I do know that she is passionate about Jesus, and she is a young mama with 3 (soon to be 4 – or maybe already 4!) very young kids at home.  I can relate to that.

But the thing I love most is that she writes things that I need to hear.  Her posts aren’t long, because most young mamas don’t have a ton of time to sit and read blogs, but they are honest and truthful.  She says in her “New? Start Here” section that one of her goals is to be challenging: “I don’t want any more fluff. Feel good stuff is okay every now and then.  But most of the time, I need a good kick in the pants.”  

Me too, man.  Me too.  (She’s much better at that than I am, by the way.  My blog is mostly fluff with a little tidbit of something worthwhile thrown in very occasionally. I very rarely have kick-in-the-pants posts around here, unfortunately.)

And I’d say that this year, this blog has been one of the most personally influential ones that I’ve read….primarily because I read her post titled “For all that you’re not,” and took her challenge.  As a result, I studied through the seven “I AM” sayings of Jesus in John, and God pounded His truth into my heart… which led to me teaching a women’s bible study at church on that same topic for this fall.   All because she said something in that post that resonated deeply with me.

Her posts aren’t always profound, and it’s often things I’ve heard before, but they convict me.  They remind me of who I am and who God is.  They consistently point me back to Jesus, and I need that.

I don’t even know this girl’s name, but I’m thankful for her and what she writes.  And I have a feeling you might like it too.

2 thoughts on “Blog Showcase

  1. You are so kind to write this. And as I read your review, I’m sorry that I’m so vague about my identity! You should at least know my name, right? It’s Nicole. I’m so happy to find your blog and hopefully stay connected with you here. And so thankful that Jesus can work His way to teach us both more about Himself through this weird thing called the internet.

    Thank you so much for this post and for offering such encouraging words. Can’t wait to see what Christ has for us on the road ahead.

  2. Nikki, I love your blog and I love my friend Nicole for the ways she gives the “kick in the pants” I need as well. I just think that it’s so awesome the way the Lord intertwines people and uses us in one another’s lives. Thanks for your faithful servcie to Him!–and your encouragement to the Body!

Leave a Reply

