Scrambling

Today I am scrambling around like a crazy woman trying to pack and plan.  This time tomorrow I’ll be on an airplane bound for Costa Rica. I’ll finally get to get a glimpse of the place I’ll be moving my family in a little over a year. Excited is an understatement.

I am ants-in-my-pants, giddy like a 5 year old on Christmas Eve excited.

I’ll be spending a week in San Jose with Emily and the youngest of the Kines clan (Matthew, who is 4 months) while we check out the city.  We’ll be staying with our future teammate, Heather, and her family, and they’ll be giving us a good sampling of what life is like for a mama on the field with a house full of youngins.  Emily and I will get to ask all sorts of questions, get to know Heather, and hopefully begin to wrap our brains around the practical side of preparing for The Big Move.

Nate, on the other hand, will be in a little community about 2 hours away called La Montana, where he and the other 8 members of our short-term team (including Josh and my dad) will be helping put a roof on a church plant and ministering to lots of Costa Rican kiddos.  They’ll be doing alot of practical, hands-on ministry, but hopefully they’ll be building alot of solid relationships that we can continue once we move there.

Our boys won’t be joining us on this trip…which is probably better for everyone involved.  They’ll get to spend a week with my mom who is going to absolutely spoil them rotten and give them much more sugar than I ever would.  But that’s okay… I hope they have so much fun that they don’t even realize we’re gone.  And I hope my mom survives!  And this weekend Nate’s mom is coming down as well, so the boys will have BOTH grandmothers at the same time.  Like I said….ROTTEN.

I should have a good bit of internet access while we’re away, so I’ll hopefully upload a few pictures.   I hear it’s so beautiful that it will be impossible to leave.  Maybe I’ll just have mom meet me there with the boys and we’ll just expedite this whole moving thing.  Because I have a feeling that once I set foot on Costa Rican soil, I’m not going to want to come back.

But I will.  For awhile, at least (:

In the meantime though, I’ll continue running around like a madwoman. Because that’s what I do best.

(If you happen to think about it, please pray for us and our team.  Me and Emily (and baby Matthew) in San Jose, while Nate, Josh, John (dad), Jeff, Rob, Sarah, Emily, and Matthew work in La Montana…. as well as the Costa Rica team who is generously hosting all of us for a week!)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Scrambling

  1. I cant wait to hear all about your trip. I hope everyone has a great week and it sounds like the boys wont even notice that you will be gone since they will get so spoiled!

Leave a Reply

