party animals

Tonight I am pulling an all-nighter.  Do you know how long it’s been since I’ve stayed up all night?  Do you know how long its been since I’ve stayed up past ELEVEN?  Nate makes fun of me because my self-enforced bedtime gets earlier and earlier every day.  Needless to say, I am not an all-nighter kind of girl.

I used to be… But those days ended when I got my undergrad diploma.  They resurfaced for a brief encore during seminary when I was cranking out papers left and right, but that was only when absolutely necessary.  And maybe during a few weeks of the sleep-deprived-mom-with-newborn-twins stage.

But now I sleep.  And I love it. I NEED it.

Except that tonight I’m pulling an all-nighter, like I said.  Nate is the youth director at our church, and he has planned a youth lock-in for tonight.  Or lock-out. Whatever you call it when we take the kids all over town doing fun stuff all night long.  Starts at supper time, ends after breakfast. OH MY HEAVENS I don’t know how I’m going to function tomorrow.

It is definitely going to be fun.  We’ve got lots of stuff planned, and it’s going to be a blast.  I can’t post it here because I am so ultra-cool that all the teenagers read my blog, and I don’t want to give away any secrets.

(Not really. I am about as far from cool as it gets.  But I am friends with them on Facebook, so there’s a very slim chance they could see this.  So no details.)

So tonight I will put the boys to sleep at my moms, then go party all night long with a bunch of teenagers.   Tomorrow will be rough.

It’s worse for Nate though.  He’s teaching sunday school and preaching at a local church on Sunday morning as part of our support raising, so while I’ll be wrangling kiddos on no sleep, he’ll be doing sermon prep.

We don’t drink coffee, but this might be the weekend we start.

Leave a Reply

