One year later

This time last year, I was insanely, hugely pregnant with a gigantic twin belly.  I was on bedrest, sitting in my recliner with my feet up while my two boys wrestled in my belly.  And I was very busy doing research on Skeletal Dysplasia, learning about how to parent a child with a physical and chromosomal abnormality.  I was preparing for one of my children to have significant physical developmental delays. I was told that he might not be able walk until he was around 3 years old.  I was preparing for Barrett to be behind.

Fast forward one year.  Today I’m sitting on my couch with my feet up, doing a little work online while my two beautiful, 11-month-old boys sleep soundly in the next room.  And I have something to show you.

Friday night, I watched perfectly healthy little Barrett take his first steps.  Not at 3, but at 11 months.  Not years after his twin brother, but before.  Not behind, but right on time.

(if you cannot see the video, click here.)

It’s amazing how different this year has looked than I expected.

I am very thankful that Barrett wasnt born with Skeletal Dysplasia.  I’m glad the doctors were wrongBut I would not go back and change the fact that we spent months preparing for that diagnosis. I would not miss out on the ways that the Lord grew my heart and my faith during that time.  I would not miss out on the prayers and tears poured out to God, and the way He taught my heart to just rest in Him. I would not miss out on the fact that something as simple as watching my child walk makes my heart overflow with  praise to the Lord.  I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

So I’m thankful.  And I’m slowly learning to trust God through the times when I question what he’s doing, because who knows what my perspective will be just one short year later.

4 thoughts on “One year later

Leave a Reply

