Month 11

In case you’re wondering… the picture count for this month was 837.   Don’t worry, I won’t include them ALL here.

This month has been a busy one for the boys… not because we’ve had a full schedule or anything, but because they have spent 24 hours of every day exploring every square inch of the house.  Needless to say, this keeps me on my toes!

Here are the basics for month 11:   I have no idea how much they weigh.  I am estimating that Noah is somewhere around 100 lbs, but that might just be my back talking.  He is wearing alot of 18 month clothes now, mostly because the 12m stuff is so tight.  His giant fat feet have outgrown his shoes, so now I’m on the hunt for somewhere that will sell me baby shoes in “wide” or “extra wide” sizes and won’t charge me a fortune for them.   No luck so far.   Barrett is finally moving up to some 12m stuff, although alot of it is still really big on him.  His clothes range everywhere from 3-6m stuff all the way to 12m.  He’s a skinny lil dude.

As far as food goes, I have no idea what I’m doing.  I’m totally winging it.  They get a bottle in the morning when they wake up and one before they go to bed.  During the day I offer them sippy cups of formula and water, but how much they take during the day kind of varies.  They get 3 meals a day, usually, and they are doing great on eating all sorts of different foods.  Usually they’ll just eat whatever I cook for us.  They are big fans of scrambled eggs, toast, biscuits, cheese sandwiches, string cheese, fruit, peas, green beans, carrots, any kind of potatoes, any kind of creamy casserole, chicken nuggets, rice, pasta…you name it.

Sleeping hasn’t changed much.  Still a morning nap at about 9:30 for about an hour and a half to 2 hrs.  They also take an afternoon nap at 1 or 1:30 for another 2 hours or so.   Bedtime is still at 7pm, and they sleep till 7am.   The only difference has been that Barrett has started protesting the crib for the past week or so.  I don’t know what’s going on with him – he’s obviously exhausted so its not an issue of not needing the sleep or not being tired.  He is fine if I pick him up.  He isn’t in pain.  He isn’t hungry.   Sometimes he quits crying immediately if I move him to the pack-n-play, so I’m wondering if that’s all it is…he just wants to sleep in the Pack-n-play.   I often separate them for naps and Barrett always ends up being the one using it, so maybe he has just decided he likes it better than the crib.  I don’t know.  Thankfully, Noah can sleep right through Barrett’s protest.  And other than that, there havent been any differences.   I know that it won’t be too much longer until the morning nap disappears, and I AM NOT READY FOR THAT!  I am really hoping I have a few more months!

We have spent the majority of this past month having play dates and lots of outside time.  They have fallen in love with the baby pool, despite the fact that it is hot pink.  Their daddy isn’t a fan, but the boys don’t seem to mind.  Besides, they are secure in their manhood so swimming in a hot pink pool is no big deal.   Plus, we already know that Barrett likes bold, bright colors, right?  This was confirmed this month when he attached himself to a plastic easter egg the exact same color as his precious purple ring.  What can I say?  The kid knows what he likes.

I already mentioned in a previous post that Barrett decided to start crawling.  Noah has been doing it for awhile, and Barrett would just sit and watch while Noah explored every nook and cranny.  Then it suddenly changed.  Noah would crawl away, and Barrett would get upset.   So he just up and started crawling.  It took Noah a couple of weeks to figure it out…It took Barrett about a day.  So now they follow each other around.  The only problem is the chairs and tables – Noah is a pro at maneuvering around underneath the furniture.  He can get himself into some pretty tight places, then easily get himself back out.  Barrett can only get himself in there…then has a slight panic attack when he realizes he’s surrounded by chair legs and doesn’t know how to escape. (My mother in law said she couldn’t imagine what Barrett crawling would look like and wanted a video. I obliged.)


Unfortunately, all of this increased mobility has led to another problem.  Noah has become a bulldozer.  He has no regard for who or what is in front of him.  He grabs ahold of anything that can be pushed across the floor (walkers, stools, dining chairs, stand-up toys, laundry baskets, etc) and plows forward.   If there’s nothing to push, he just starts climbing on anything and anyone in front of him.  The problem is that Barrett is often in his path and gets trampled.  It’s a regular run of the bulls at our house on a daily basis.  I am constantly rescuing Barrett from the path of the Dozer, and if I don’t get there in time, I hear a loud scream and find Barrett pinned on the ground under a toy, a chair, or the Bulldozer himself.   I’m just hoping Barrett survives until they can both walk.

Barrett knows how to relax.

Other new things this month include 2 new teeth each, lots of new silly noises and games, numerous unsuccessful attempts to walk, a newfound obsession with the fireplace (which Noah gets in trouble for about 400 times a day), new sippy cups they can actually use, lots of new dance moves for Barrett, and a baby gate.  Oh, and Stupidcat pretty much hates me for bringing two mischievous little boys into her life that can now chase her and grab her tail.   She had it coming.

Top 2 teeth!

This time next month, I’ll be telling you about their first birthday party.  Lord help me.


3 thoughts on “Month 11

  1. You are a great writer!! I laughed outloud several times reading about your two too cute boys!! They are hillarious! And beautiful!!! I know Noah looks just like your baby pictures, but I am certain I see some of his daddy in him!!

  2. Ok, my fav picture of the month is either the pic of barrett and nate relaxing in the hammock OR the pic of noah in the pool. its a tough call, I bet you can understand my difficulty in picking a fav pic. :) kiss my boys for me and tell them I am coming to play again soon !

Leave a Reply

