The Challenge

I posted a few days ago about my sister (the crazy cake lady), her new blog and the challenge she has made for herself… to make all these crazy beautiful cakes in 1 year from a certain cake cookbook.

I too have decided to challenge myself.  Except you aren’t going to be as excited about mine.  It isn’t going to help you or intrigue you at all,  I can’t post pictures, and none of my friends get to eat anything yummy as a result of my hard work.  I’m pretty sure the only person that benefits from it whatsoever is me.  Hmmm. Does this mean it’s a selfish challenge?  I don’t know.

Anyway.  Ever since I had a big wreck last November and had to have a good bit of physical therapy, I’ve been working out alot.  The physical therapist had me doing weight/strength training 3 days a week, so I figured I might as well keep it up once the therapy was over.  So I have.  Plus I added in a bunch of other stuff.   So I am actually gaining some strength and tone for the first time in my life.  I have pretty much been a pansy for the past 27 years.

In order to give myself a measurable goal, I decided to give myself a challenge.  By the end of the summer (as in, before Labor Day), I am going to be able to do 30 REAL pushups (not the girly kind), and 10 REAL pullups.   You might laugh at me, but considering I have never done a single one of either,  I am considering this a pretty lofty challenge.

I tried last night so I can judge exactly where I’m starting from.  I did 5 girly pushups. It was hard. I couldn’t do a single REAL pushup, so I’m starting with zero there.  And I didn’t even get a centimeter off the floor when I tried a pullup, so I’m at zero for that one too.  So I’d say I have a long way to go.

But I’m going to get there, just you watch.   Or don’t watch, because I think the process is going to be a little embarrassing.

If Janie can crank out master cakes multiple times a week with less effort than it would take me to make a batch of brownies, I think I can manage a few measly pullups.  And if not…  then I’ll get her to make me an “I’m sorry you’re still such a pansy” cake as a consolation prize.

One thought on “The Challenge

Leave a Reply

