So…I kinda have some big news.

I’ve hinted for the past several weeks that our family has something brewing. Well, folks, this is the big missions post you’ve all been waiting on. We’re finally at the point where we can share our news, and it makes me giddy just to write it. I hope you’re as excited as I am. Are you ready?

We’re moving to Costa Rica!

I’m assuming you’re going to want a little more explanation, right? Well, as many of you know, Nate and I have been steadily working towards the mission field since 2004. We felt very certain that we are called to foreign missions, we just didn’t know a timeline or a location. Well now we do. The time is now, and the location is Latin America.

There are lots of exciting parts to this news, but one of the big parts is that our family isn’t going alone. We are going to be partnering with some of our very best friends, Josh & Emily Kines (& crew). We love them to pieces, and we are so excited that God is sending us all out together. I for one, am thrilled that I’ll have another young mama with her youngins right there with me. The thought of moving my young family to another country is a little less scary when we’re taking a little piece of home with us.

So we’re starting out in San Jose, Costa Rica, and we’ll spend 2 years there with the MTW Costa Rica team. We’ll go to language school (my boys will be fluent little Spanish speakers – how adorable is that?!), we’ll jump right on in to hands-on ministry with the team, and we’ll get lots and LOTS of training in how to plant churches and minister in a cross-cultural context. That’s an important part, because PHASE 2 of the plan is to move to another location after 2 years where there is no team and hopefully start a new work in an unreached area. Our 2nd location in Central/South America is yet to be determined, but we’ll be working really closely with MTW while we’re in Costa Rica to prayerfully decide which area to focus on long-term. Our plan is to take the gospel to an area that isn’t really being reached by churches or missionaries yet. That’s pretty dadgum exciting, if you ask me.

So the next logical question is WHEN? We were approved last week, signed about a bajillion stacks of paperwork, and officially became MTW missionaries. Now we have to start raising support. We are hoping to leave sometime next summer or early fall (2012), depending on how long the support-raising process takes. Of course we would love to get on the field sooner if we could raise support quickly enough. (We would love your help!)

We can’t even begin to express how thrilled we are that this is finally coming together. I’ve had so many friends and family that have encouraged us and prayed for us as we’ve been on this journey, and I am so excited to share this part of it with everyone. To all my prayer warriors at there: pray that our support raising will go quickly. Pray that God will continue to mold and prepare us for the transitions ahead. And pray for Costa Rica – that hearts will be ready to receive the gospel, trust in Christ, and be CHANGED!

One more thing – OUR TEAM HAS A WEBSITE! Nate and Josh are making their blogging debut at www.CrossCollaboration.org. Please go there and find out more about what we’re doing and how you can be a part of it with us. And please check back regularly, because they’ll update it often.

Thanks for keeping up!

5 thoughts on “So…I kinda have some big news.

  1. Congratulations! The answer to so many of your prayers, I’m sure! You both will be great. May God go with you all!

  2. So excited to hear you will be serving in South America! Highlands has supported Rodney and Jana Davila for years. They relocated to Costa Rica from Chile last year. My heart is in Ecuador, so selfishly I hope you end up there. Wherever the Lord sends y’all, I know you will serve Him well. I am so proud of you and Nate, and that you are following God’s call in your life! I remember back when you served on the Highlands’ missions committee in high school…and look where you are now! Joanna

  3. I am so excited for you all! What a wonderful ministry! I think what you are doing is so awesome and brave! Thanks so much for sharing all this with us. I love you both!

Leave a Reply

