Email Updates

Bare with me for a teensy bit of housekeeping around here…

Lately I have had several people request that I add a feature to the blog that will automatically send posts to their email, so I finally figured out how to do it.   If that’s not something that interests you (or if you don’t really read it that often anyway), then you can just skip this post!

In the middle column of the blog (under “The Bonhams”)  you will see an “EMAIL UPDATES” section.   This feature allows people to “subscribe” to my posts, which basically means that every time I write something on here, it will be sent to your email and you will no longer have to come to the website.  Very handy for people who don’t have much time to just sit down at their computer, like my sister.  And it means that people don’t have to waste their time coming to the blog on days that I don’t have time to post.

A couple of things to know:

  • You email address won’t be exposed to spammers or advertisers – I will be the only one who sees it, and I promise not to spam you (:   It gets stored on some WordPress server somewhere and used only for emailing you posts.
  • The full text of a post will come to your email, including links and pictures.  Basically everything you can see on a post here at the website, you will be able to see on the email.  No reason to click through to the actual blog unless you want to.
  • You can specify if you want it to send you an email every time I post, or once a day, or once a week.  (I think the default setting is ‘instant’.)  If you choose the daily or weekly option, you can choose what time of day you want it sent.
  • You can cancel or change your options anytime you want.

And by the way, I signed up for this myself just so I could see what happens when someone does it.  It works great and is super easy.   So feel free to make use of it if you want.  And if you have a question or don’t know how to get it set up, just let me know in an email or a comment.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

