Giraffe Love (DPP1)

Last year I did the December Photo Project (one picture from each day of the first 25 days of December).    On day 1 last year, one year ago from today, I posted our very first sonogram picture and announced that we were having twins!

Well, here are those twins today:

Giraffe Love
Noah
Barrett

“Sophie the Giraffe” (times two)  is pretty much the only reason the boys make it through the day right now.  We are in 100% full teething mode around here, which means that there must always ALWAYS be something in each mouth at all times or else we have meltdowns from all angles.  Usually, the object of choice is the giraffe teethers that Nanny (my mom) got them last year for Christmas, even though they were only 12-week-old fetuses at that point.

We originally only had one, and Noah always had it because he was teething alot worse than Barrett for awhile there.  Since Noah liked it so much, she ordered one for Barrett so he wouldnt feel left out.  Let me tell you, I’m pretty sure Barrett will always be indebted to his Nanny for that one, because as soon as he got his slobbery little fingers on it, he refused to let go.  If he had only known how wonderful the sensation of a giraffe on your gums could be, he probably would have stolen it from Noah a long time ago.  And Barrett’s teething is now just as bad as Noah’s, so it has become a necessity.

So now they both have giraffes and all is right with the world, except for the fact that there is no way in tarnation we can tell them apart or keep them separate.  So they slobber on one, then trade and slobber on the other, and there’s not a thing in the world I can do about it.  Pretty disgusting if you ask me.  But I’m pretty sure thats something I’m going to have to get used to over the next several years, because they certainly don’t have any concept of sanitation standards at the moment.  They stick their feet in their own poo when we’re changing diapers, for goodness sake.

Speaking of poo, please go read this post my best friend Kelly’s blog.  You will laugh until you cry.  It’s easy to see why she has been my best friend for 22 years.

Anyway.  Back to giraffes.  If you’re trying to figure out what to get your infant, baby-to-be, or any other teething or soon-to-be-teething baby in your life for Christmas, let me tell you that the money spent on Sophie the Giraffe is well worth it.   At this point, I’m pretty sure they would be on my list of Top Ten Things To Grab If My House Was Burning To The Ground.

Oh, and in case you were wondering, we discovered a tiny razor sharp tooth poking through Noah’s gums on Monday morning.  Barrett’s are still on their way, and he really wants his two (bottom) front teeth for Christmas.  If you’re lucky, maybe I will feature two toothy grins one day during the DPP.

So here’s to day 1 of the December Photo Project.  I’m looking forward to the remaining 24 pictures.  But in all honesty, I’ll be proud if I make it through the first week (:

ps – click here to sign up for the December Photo Project if you want to join up!

 

Leave a Reply

