This time last year…

Today (Nov 3), we are celebrating two things in our house.  The boys are 5 months old today! If that doesn’t make you feel like time has passed at lightening speed, this will:  Today is the 1 year anniversary of the day we found out we were having a baby  (at that point, we were assuming it was singular).

One year ago today, Nate had to speak at Presbytery and was leaving the house early.  I’d been having some symptoms, and he begged me to go ahead and take a test before he left.  I didn’t want to, because I was afraid I would be disappointed again…. it’s hard seeing the words “not pregnant” again and again on those little digital tests.   But Nate was awfully optimistic, so I agreed to take one before he left for the day.

A couple of minutes later, I came out of the bathroom with tears streaming down my face and a test in my hand.  A test that said “pregnant.”   Nate and I stood there with our arms around each other, crying, and saying over and over again how we couldn’t believe it.

Of course, Nate still had to leave the house and go speak in front of a big roomful of people.  After getting news like that, it’s incredible that he even made it through his speech!  But he did, and since we couldn’t spend the day together, we made up for it by calling each other about 100 times throughout the day just to say “I can’t believe we’re having a baby!”  Of course, the shock of the fact that it was actually TWO babies didn’t come until a few weeks later.

There are several days in my life that I can look back on and say “that day, everything changed.”  November 3, 2009 was one of those days.  That was the day I started talking to my belly.  The day I started praying for whoever was growing in there, and whoever that little person would marry one day.  The day I started falling in love in a whole new way with a little person (actually two!) I had yet to meet.  The day I started loving Nate in a whole new way.  The day I started self-identifying as a mother.

We’ve come a long way in the past year.  I’ve gone from having some unknown being to carry in my tummy to having two amazing little 5-month-old boys to carry in my arms.

Happy 5 month birthday, Noah and Barrett.  I loved you before I even knew you, and the joy you’ve brought me over the past year has been unimaginable.

Alot can happen in a mere 365 days.  I wonder what I’ll be saying this time next year.

2 thoughts on “This time last year…

Leave a Reply

