6 years…

Today, Nate and I are celebrating 6 years of being married.  Year number 6 traditionally isn’t a big milestone anyway, but for us it’s even more low-key than normal! We went on our anniversary date last night while my mom watched the boys, and it was great to have an evening out.  We went out to dinner at Tico’s Steakhouse and then over to Sweet Tree Yogurt, which is a frozen yogurt shop that a friend of ours opened last week.  We felt like we should take advantage of the evening and go do something else as well, but we couldn’t come up with anything to do, and walking around Walmart didn’t seem very romantic.  Is that a sign of being old?  We came home after about 2 and a half hours, and my mom made fun of us for being home before 9pm on our date night.  Oh well….that’s what sleep deprivation does to you!

Today is our actual anniversary, and it has been pretty low-key.  Nate had the day off (YAY!) so we have just spent the day laying around the house, playing with babies.  Tonight he’ll be here until we have to put the boys to bed, then he has to go to a fundraiser dinner for MadCAAP for a couple of hours. If I’m still awake when he gets home, we’ll snuggle on the couch and watch a movie or something to end the day.  But I might be asleep (:   Like I said, our 6th anniversary is a pretty mild one!

Overall, though, year number 6 has been a pretty crazy one.  Here’s a rundown of how we spent our 6th year:

  • We set up our new house, which we had just moved into a few weeks before.
  • We started off with a surprise anniversary cruise! Nate told me the day before we left, and it was awesome.
  • My little sister turned 20…that was weird.  It will be even weirder when she turns 21 this week!
  • I had my first semester of not being in school….for the first time in 21 years.
  • We spent alot of time praying about the mission field.
  • I started sewing.
  • On Nov 3, we found out we were pregnant with twins after a long time of trying.  Since we weren’t sure if we would be able to have any kids, we were THRILLED!  We announced it to our families around Thanksgiving.
  • On Dec. 1, I posted the news on the blog.
  • The next day, I posted the news that we were planning a trip to Honduras on a vision trip.
  • On Dec. 8, we welcomed my new nephew, John Beckham Madden to the world.  Little Beckham is now an 8-month-old giant who wears 24-month old clothes. Seriously.
  • Stupidcat kept getting these danged UTIs. treating them cost us a fortune.
  • I got the worst morning sickness in the history of the world.  Okay maybe not the history of the world, but it felt like it.  I threw up multiple times a day for 16 weeks. It was awesome.
  • We went to Pennsylvania to see Nate’s extended family for the week between Christmas and New Years, like we always do.  I got so sick I cried in line at the airport.
  • The day we got back, our sweet puppy Annabeth ran away.
  • I got back just in time for my best friend to give birth to her first child.
  • We went to Atlanta for a week in January to go through an evaluation process with our missions agency.  We were approved to go as long-term missionaries with MTW once we have a location nailed down.
  • We went on our Honduras trip, despite the fact that I was sick as a dog from the pregnancy.  It was great because Hondurans treat pregnant ladies like queens. (:
  • We found out we were having BOYS!
  • We named our boys.
  • I stopped working because the doctor thought it might put me into preterm labor, and my back hurt so bad I thought it was going to break in half.
  • We found out we were having some complications with the pregnancy, which were iso-immunization and a probable diagnosis of Skeletal Dysplasia for Barrett. Everybody we know started praying for our boys.  I was told to stay off my feet big-time.
  • I turned 26.
  • I got a new camera for my birthday and started taking pictures from my perch in the recliner.
  • Nate installed hardwood floors while we waited for results from our doctor.
  • We got our results back and celebrated a miracle.
  • Our great friend Emily moved away.
  • We had our babies!! June 3, 2010 was their birthday.
  • We were in the hospital for 19 days.  Nate and I lived in a boarding room so we could be close to the boys.  They had lots of intense phototherapy for the rh disease, and they had to have 2 transfusions each. We found out that Barrett did NOT have Skeletal Dysplasia– another miracle!
  • We celebrated Nate’s first Fathers Day in the hospital.
  • We finally got to take our boys home!
  • Nate turned 26.
  • After they came home, we just tried to adjust to life with babies.  We went to the beach (twice),  the boys had a crazy growth spurt.
  • After the growth spurt, Barrett started having some major issues with his digestive tract and was in alot of pain.  He had surgery on August 9 to repair 3 hernias that were complicating his problems.  Things got alot better, although they aren’t totally back to normal yet.  But we’re getting there.
  • Nate started a new job at our church as Youth Director and Ministerial Assistant.

There are probably more things I am forgetting, but those are the highlights.   It has been a year of growth for both of us (especially for me- I grew in all sorts of directions…especially in my midsection!) We have grown closer together and closer to the Lord than we thought possible, and it has been by far the most difficult and most rewarding year of my life to date.

God has also shown me this year how blessed I am to have married such a wonderful man.  I have always appreciated his spiritual leadership, his gentleness with me, his ability to make me laugh, his wisdom… I could go on and on….  but this year I started to appreciate him in a whole new way.  He took care of me while I was pregnant in the sweetest ways.  But most of all, I watched him become a Daddy, and the way he treats me and those babies makes me realize all over again why I married him.  I wouldn’t change a thing.

So, here’s to 6 great years, Natey. I have a feeling they might get a little crazier from here on out, but we’ll just ride it out like we always do.  Happy anniversary, babe. I love you!

6 thoughts on “6 years…

  1. Ahhh this was awesome. Its going to take me a while to go through all of those links again but I’m going to do it!

    Happy Anniversary Bonhams!

  2. I found out I was pregnant with Lilla the same day as you! I will always remember it bc November 3 is also my birthday:)

  3. Precious!! Thanks for sharing that. Johnny and I celebrated (apart) 27 years on the 19. I’m going to spend some time thinking about what the past year, year 27, has held for us. I’ll challenge him to do the same. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

