Trial and error

People always tell you that half of motherhood is just figuring out what works for you, and the only way to do that is by trial and error.  I’ve only been a mama for 5 weeks, but I have definitely learned that it’s true!  I can’t tell you how many times I have come up with a better way to do something for us, only to think immediately afterward “that should have been common sense. Why did it take me so long to figure that out?”

Perfect example:   When I’m trying to get things done around the house during naptime, I should prioritize the things that cannot be done while holding a baby.  The things that can be done one-handed should be at the bottom of the list, because I can still take care of those things even if the boys wake up fussy and I have to hold one.  Totally common sense, right?

Yesterday, I was about to cook supper and the boys were still sleeping.  We were having fajitas.  I was about to get started, but the pile of clean laundry on the dining table was really nagging at me and needed to be folded.   I decided I would go ahead and tackle the laundry, then start supper. Surely I could get both knocked out before the boys woke up.

Well, the boys woke up early, both were a little fussy, and Nate and I quickly found ourselves each with a baby in hand, trying to calm them down.  It was time for both of us to eat and we were hungry, but I cant exactly cook fajitas with a baby in my arms.  Olive oil and grease popping out of a pan doesnt really mix with baby skin. And I knew if I put him down, we would be entering full melt-down mode.  So dinner would have to wait.  But good thing I got that laundry folded, huh?

This should have been common sense.  Dinner should have been first, because I can fold laundry with a fussy baby in my arms.  Oh well.  It ended up working out because my aunt happened to drop by right then to see the babies, so I was able to cook after all.  Otherwise our dinner would have been postponed until after the babies had eaten and gone to bed, and we would have been starving!

So now I have a list in my head of things I can do even while holding  a baby, and a list of things I need both hands for.  Now that I know when to do what, I can actually get some things done during the day. I don’t however, have a list of things I can do while holding BOTH of them.  So during those times when I’m here by myself and the whole house has simultaneous meltdowns, I’m out of luck!  Might as well just make myself comfortable on the couch and love on some babies until the tears go away (:

One thought on “Trial and error

  1. Whitley is 1 1/2 now and I’m still having to learn how to prioritize! I try to get three things done a day. It usually takes me a while to get caught up, but then there are days when I clean like crazy :) Good thing you figured this out earl on!!!!

Leave a Reply

