Read this book…

I mentioned last week (or maybe the week before) that I have been doing alot more reading lately.  For some reason, my concentration and focus has returned, which means I can plow through books again like I used to.

Last week I read Same Kind of Different As Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore, The Noticer by Andy Andrews, The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck, and I started  Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck.

This week I read the rest of  Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck, The Red Pony by John Steinbeck, Bruchko by Bruce Olson, Adopted for Life by Russell D. Moore, and I started Gospel Powered Parenting by William P. Farley.

This next week I have a whole new stack on my list.   It has been a long time since I’ve had the time and ability to read this much, so I am going to enjoy it while I can!

There’s one book in particular that I want to encourage you to read.  I would force you to read it if I could, but I haven’t quite figured out how to do that yet.  Although, I did give it to my mom and tell her “I have never told you before that it is extremely important to me that you read a specific book, but it is extremely important to me that you read THIS book.”   She promised she would.  That’s about as close to forcing as I can get, I think.

Nate and I both read Adopted for Life by Russell D. Moore this past week, and both of us absolutely loved it.  I won’t post a big full review, but instead I will direct you to read the review that Tim Challies posted last year.

I will tell you a few things about it, however.   If your first response to this is “well I’m not planning to adopt,” don’t worry.  This book isn’t written just to families who want to adopt children.  That’s not going to get you off the hook for reading it (:    It is written for believers, and it weaves the concept of the adoption of children with the scriptural doctrine of Adoption in a way that I’ve never seen before.   When I closed this book, I had a greater understanding of the doctrine, a better appreciation for my standing as an adopted child of God, as well as an increased passion for the adoption of children.

It is written for churches, for Christians who want to understand God better, for believers who want to be a part of adoption ministry (whether via financial support, encouragement, raising awareness, or actually adopting children), for families who are thinking about adopting, for couples who are thinking about starting a family, for family and friends of people who are planning to adopt….. it covers the full spectrum, and ALL of it is relevant.   I can pretty much guarantee that you will not put this book down and think “well that was good, but it didn’t really apply to me.”  It does. If you are a believer, this book applies to you.

Nate and I are really excited about this book from a personal perspective.  We decided years ago that we wanted to have a diverse family, hopefully made up both of children that we will physically bear and children that we will adopt from various places, most likely from whatever cultures we serve on the mission field.   Adoption is important to us because we strongly feel God leading us in that direction.

It is also important to me because I am adopted.  Of course my adoption story isn’t a dramatic story of being an orphan or in foster care or anything like that.  My mom married my dad when I was 4, and he legally adopted me and my big sister.   He was pretty young with no children, but he loved us for no reason and took us as his own.  He took us into his home and gave us a new name, a new family, a new inheritance, and a new heritage….he made me completely, wholly, 100% his daughter.  He and my mom had my little sister about a year later, and to this day I have never felt the tiniest bit of difference….. I am just as much his daughter as she is.  It wasn’t based on anything I did. I didn’t deserve it or earn it, and there’s no way that it could be taken from me.    I have always treasured the fact that God provided me and my big sister with such a practical example of the way that He loves us –  I didn’t earn or deserve that Adoption either, but God took me into his home, gave me a new Name, a new Family, a new Inheritance, and a new Heritage….he made me completely, wholly, 100% his daughter, and there’s no way it could be taken from me.   I couldn’t have asked for a better way for God to give a little girl a very practical illustration of the gospel, and it excites me that I can pass that along to my children as well.

I would love for you to read this book.  I would ESPECIALLY love for anyone who is close to me and Nate to read this book, because it will help you to understand our views on adoption and why we really want to be a part of it.  It will probably get you really excited about being a part of the process!   Of course, with everything going on at the moment with these two little boys we’re about to welcome into the world, we are going to have to give it a little time before we start.  But I anxiously await the day when I get to meet more of my children, however the Lord brings them to me.  Maybe some of them are already out there, just waiting on the day they get to meet their Mama and Daddy.

One thought on “Read this book…

Leave a Reply

