My latest endeavor…

Once Kelly started posting adorable pictures of Clark on her blog and on facebook, I knew that I had to get a better camera than my dinky little point-and-shoot.   I am going to have 2 adorable little boys in a few months, and I want to be able to take great pictures of them…frameworthy pictures without paying someone else to do it.  I don’t want to pay for portraits or photography sessions, so I figured the best thing to do would be to get a decent camera and learn how to take them myself.  Unfortunately, I found out quickly that photography isnt a cheap hobby.  Who knew?

So I started researching…and found that a digital slr is the thing to buy these days to get really good pictures…. and those things are expensive. But, I knew I didnt want to spend a whole lot of money on something that I had no idea how to work.  I couldn’t justify dropping hundreds and hundreds (and more hundreds) of dollars on a fancy piece of equipment that I might not be good at using or end up having much time for in the future.  (Hopefully neither of those will happen!) I figured the best thing to do would be to wait around for an unbelievable sale, borrow a camera until I learned how to use it, or buy a used one.

I posted on facebook that I was looking for one and asked for advice, and a girl that I went to high school with informed me that she was selling hers so that she could upgrade to something even fancier…..and she was willing to give me an UNBELIEVABLE deal.  Since she was in town this weekend, we decided to go ahead and make it happen.  This is what she sold me:

Canon Rebel xt

It’s a Canon Rebel xt.  It’s a few years old, but it still works great and gets lots of really great reviews.  It has the ability to do all of the crazy manual settings as well as automatic ones for people like me who are operating with “baby brain.”  It’s also the type where you can change out the lens for something more specific, like a wide-angle lens, a macro lens, etc.   Basically, it’s amazing.  And more importantly, I’m not totally broke after buying it.  I’ll still have money to diaper the boys, thanks to my friend’s willingness to basically let me steal this camera from her.

I am still learning how to use it, because it is definitely alot more complicated than any other camera I’ve ever owned.   I spent some time reading up on things like aperture, shutter speed, white balance, ISO, etc., and I’m just barely starting to get the hang of it.   I still have no clue what I’m doing, but I’ll get there.

I started reading about the basics of photography on The Pioneer Woman’s website, and that helped alot.  Between that and the camera’s manual, I at least had a good starting place. (If you know of any other great sites that are helpful for beginners, send them my way!)

I am going to spend a little time trying to figure out how to get all of these settings to work and see if I can turn out a decent picture.  I’ll post a few photos tomorrow, and all of you photography gurus can tell me what I’m doing wrong and give me some tips on fixing it.  Maybe by the time these boys arrive, I’ll be able to take a few shots that I’m proud of!

2 thoughts on “My latest endeavor…

  1. We have the Rebel XTi and I’m still trying to figure it out 3 years later, haha! Jarod has gotten the hang of a few things, but I still just stick with the automatic settings. I would love to find a class that teaches me all of the basics so I can start taking some really good pictures on my own. But then I’d probably need to (I already want to anyway) learn how to use Photoshop better so I could still doctor up the pictures I take and turn a great picture into an AWESOME picture, haha!

Leave a Reply

