7 Things…

Kelly tagged me to do this “7 things” post, so I figured I should go ahead and do it before I forget.  Because I forget ALOT of things these days.  It’s as if I have 2 babies draining my brain power or something.

1. I mentioned on Facebook that my outfits seem to get more and more interesting the bigger I get.  I’m getting to a stage when I’m starting to grow at a quicker rate, although I was convinced that wasn’t possible.   In every twin pregnancy book I’ve read, it says that 6 months is when  you start to resemble a land barge more than a person, and that it won’t be long until I can’t fit in any maternity clothes.  (thanks for the warning, I guess.)   I am 1 week away from the 6 month mark, and the rapid growth has begun.  And it does not feel pleasant.  I guess this means I am on track.  Back to the outfits…..I wear alot of stretchy yoga pants and Nate’s big t-shirts.  The problem is that I am about to grow out of Nate’s t-shirts, so I think my next option is to send him to Goodwill to pick up a big stack of XXL men’s shirts.   I think everyone at church is going to have to be okay with me looking like a homeless person on Sundays….because sometimes that’s the best I can do.

2.  Nate is on Spring Break!  This is the first year EVER that I have not had my own Spring Break, because until now, I have been in school since I was 4.   Although it’s kind of like I have a permanent spring break  (minus a beach or a fun vacation), because I don’t work too much anymore and spend alot of my days “resting.”   But in typical “Nate” style, he is not relaxing and hanging out for his spring break like most people do.  He has a To-Do List that’s about 4 miles long, and he started it the second he walked in the door from class on Thursday night.   Thursday night he painted the nursery.  Yesterday he cleaned the entire carport, top to bottom, followed by both outdoor storage rooms.   Today he has cleaned out the closet in the nursery and the guest room, boxed up a bunch of our books that we don’t use on a regular basis, run several errands, organized and cleaned our storage unit so we can quit paying for it, and now he’s working on the finishing touches on the storage shed he built out back.   In the midst of all of his hard work, he still takes time to come and ask me how I’m feeling, make sure I’m drinking my water, and won’t let me pick up anything over about 2 lbs. And he never complains about anything. Because he’s amazing.

3. I am officially “retired” from my position as Children’s Ministry Director at our church, and it’s weird.  I have been doing it for 3 years, and I absolutely loved it.   It is really sad that I had to stop, but I just don’t think I can handle everything at the same time without something suffering for it.  Plus the doctor says she was about to make me quit anyway, so I didn’t really have a choice.  The great thing is that after 3 years in that position, I am convinced that it is still an area of ministry that I want to continue to work in after my life settles down, even if it’s just from a volunteer standpoint.  I have no doubt that I will be active in a ministry to children while we are on the mission field, as well as in any church we serve in the future.  For now, though, I’ve got to concentrate on 2 kiddos in particular.

4. Nate and I are selling his pickup truck.  Anybody interested in a 2005 Nissan Frontier?  It has been extremely dependable for the past 4-5 years, but it won’t fit carseats, so it has to go.   It’s in great shape other than a few scratches and what-not that are just battle scars from the construction industry, but nothing major.  Not sure of the mileage off the top of my head, but I can find out.  And he’s pretty much just asking the KBB value for it.  If you’re interested, let me know!

5. I have reached a whole new level of hungry.  I never knew it was possible to be this starving ALL THE TIME.  I think the majority of my thoughts every day revolve around what I’m going to eat next.  That’s actually what I’m thinking about right now, and I’d better hurry up and finish this list so I can go scrounge for my 18th meal of the day.

6. I mentioned a long time ago (cant remember if it was on the blog or on Facebook) that Annabeth (our over-sized Papillion) was missing after New Years.  In case you were wondering, we still haven’t seen her.  We put signs up everywhere, called all the vets in the area, sent fliers to vets and shelters and Animal Control, and talked to all of the neighbors.  Unfortunately, she hasn’t returned.  I have a feeling that she just made friends with a new family and invited herself right into their living room during all of the cold weather.  She is one of the most social little dogs I’ve ever known, and she always makes friends with any of the kids that are playing on our street.  It wouldn’t surprise me a bit to find out that some family adopted her and ignored the signs posted, because she is friendly, well behaved, house-trained, and great with kids.  I’m hoping that we’ll still get her back at some point, but I’m also realistic that after 2 and a half months, it probably won’t happen.   It still feels weird not to have her running around the house or playing in the yard.  And I think Stupidcat really misses her favorite playmate (besides Nate).  She was kind of the baby of the family, and it’s strange that she’s not here.

7.  In response to Kelly’s #4 entry to her “7 things” list, which was her explanation of her constant red mustache, I thought I would comment that she should probably retire her Raspberry Ice Crystal Light in the near future.  First of all, there are lots of great flavors (such as the “strawberry orange banana” that I am currently drinking while writing this) that do not leave you with mustaches.  Secondly, you do NOT want to learn the hard way that any red drink in the house with a baby is a bad idea.  Of course, I had to learn this with Stupidcat instead of a baby, but I found out when I used to nanny my cousin that many of the rules for babies are similar to the rules for Stupidcat.  If it can be knocked over, it will be. If it can be spilled, it will be.  If it can be stolen and hidden under the rug, it will be. In the midst of a tantrum, the casualties are worse, especially if there are un-manned drinks sitting around.  Hopefully Clark won’t be as vindictive and moody as Stupidcat can be, but there’s a good chance that Kelly will end up with a blog post begging for help getting red stains out of carpet or couches if she doesn’t make the Crystal Light flavor switch.   Trust me in this, Roommate (which is referring to Kelly if you don’t know that already), Raspberry Ice Crystal Light will stain more than your upper lip.  I have bright red spots on my living room rug to prove it.   Don’t wait until it’s too late!

*I’m not sure who to tag in this that hasn’t already done it, because lots of my friends already have.  I’ll go with Nikki S., Courtney S.,  Lindsey M.,  Marley E.,  Katie A.,  Amber W.,  and Sally B.    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

