5th Anniversary Cruise

This whole year, Nate and I have said we were going to do something really fun for our 5th anniversary. After all, 5 is the first “big” anniversary you have, other than your 1 year.  After this, we have to wait until 10 to have another “big” one.  Unless of course we decide to be unconventional and celebrate our next big anniversary milestone at say, 7 and a quarter. (which could totally happen)

We finally decided we would just take a week off and go to the condo.   Well, to be honest, I decided that because Nate all of a sudden didnt seem like he really cared one way or the other…which was weird.  I just figured he had too much on his plate to be thinking about it, so I would just plan it.

Then it started getting closer and Nate seemed even more apathetic.   I started thinking, “maybe we should just do something fun next year. maybe he’s just too stressed this year.”  So I started saying “We don’t have to go to the beach if you’re too busy,” and he would say, “well do you want to go? It’s up to you.”

I was bummed because I thought we were letting #5 slide by with no recognition, but I didn’t want to put more stress on him than he needed.  After all, this is a pretty busy time for him.  So we decided maybe we would go for Labor Day instead, and we left it at that.  We’d just have a dinner date instead. 

Little did I know that his apathy was meant to throw me off and get me to think he wasn’t making a big deal out of our anniversary.  I had no clue that back in APRIL he had bought tickets for a surprise cruise!  He surprised me with the tickets the day before, and we dumped everything in a suitcase and drove to NOLA for the trip. 

I took my camera but didn’t take too many pictures, unfortunately. The good thing, though, was that we met 2 other great couples who we spent most of our time with, and those couples took lots of pictures for us and emailed them to me when we got back.  It was basically like having a private photographer with us for a week.  We should do every trip like that from here on out, I think. 

Some of these are mine, some are theirs.  If you want to see more, click over to my Facebook album (for those of you who aren’t reading this through FB already).

Nate's first time at Cafe Du Monde for beignets
Nate's first time at Cafe Du Monde for beignets
Hanging out in "Electricity Disco" on Wednesday night
Hanging out in "Electricity Disco"
Our new fun group of friends hanging out at PlayaMia Beach Resort in Cozumel
Our new fun group of friends hanging out at PlayaMia Beach Resort in Cozumel
Veranda Deck - we would lay out up there and cool off by going down the slide.
Veranda Deck - we would lay out up there and cool off by going down the slide.
Amit and Lynn, two of our new friends
Amit and Lynn, two of our new friends
Our whole table - the same group every night.  This picture is from the night of our actually anniversary.
The whole table - the same group every night. This is from the night of our actual anniversary.

We had a blast and celebrated 5 years in style after all (:  Now its time for me to start planning our 7-and-a-quarter celebration!

One thought on “5th Anniversary Cruise

Leave a Reply

