Works For Me Wednesday

wfmw

It’s been a LONG time since I’ve done one of these.  I always enjoyed it though, bc I always got lots of tips from it, so I thought I’d start it up again. However, since I took my WFMW break, it has moved from being hosted at Rocks in My Dryer to We are THAT Family.  So you’ll have to go there to check it out.

Today my WFMW is on how to keep up with washing instructions for things you don’t want to keep the tags on.  (I know you’re not supposed to end a sentence with a preposition–actually you can, just not in this case–but it sounded stupid the other way.  So Nikki S and all the other English gurus out there are going to have to give me a break. I know the rules, I just break them. alot.)

ANYWAY. This was a problem that always drove me crazy.  I’d buy some great item like a pillow with a removable case or a new comforter or our electric blanket, etc… and it would have some crazy specific washing instructions that there’s no way I’d remember without some serious help.  But I didn’t want to leave the big white ugly tags hanging off of it either.  And I would definitely lose them if I tore them off.  So I came up with a system.

Now I take an index card, write the name of the  item at the top. Then I list the washing instructions on it, and hang it with tape on the inside of the cabinet door  in the laundry room.  Then I can tear off the tag and throw it away without worrying that I’m going to ruin the item when I toss it in the washing machine later.  Whenever I move (which happens alot, apparently), I take the index cards down, put them in a plastic baggie, and pack it with my detergent.  Then when I unpack at the new house, I just rehang them in the laundry room.

It works because I don’t lose it, and since it’s right beside my detergent, I can’t miss it.   No more screwed up blankets, pillows, curtains, tablecloths, placemats, etc bc I washed it wrong.  And no more ugly white tags hanging off the corner of my bedspread.  Works for me!

click on over to We Are THAT Family to see what else works for other people in all areas of life.

Leave a Reply

