Sunday, July 19, 2009

(first off…Happy 25th Birthday to my best friend of 21 years…   I love you, Kelly!)

We came back from the beach and started packing up our house for the move.  We will hopefully do our “house swap” next week, but that’s only if the mortgage lender can get the paperwork through to close in time.  Until then, we’re sorting, cleaning, and packing anything that isn’t an essential.

We’ve also been doing lots of fall planning for church. I’m getting my Sunday School classes prepared, teachers recruited, curriculum sorted, and supplies organized.  We’re also starting a new kids program on Sunday Nights, so I’m busy getting all of that together too.  I’m so excited to see how everything comes together this fall!

Nate has spent the last 2 weeks building out the youth room at the church office.   Since we don’t have our own building yet, our office is in a house adjacent to the property we plan to build on. It has a 3 car garage that we have been planning to convert to a youth room, and we have finally done it!  (I use the term “we” very loosely… my job involved visiting Nate and Harrison every so often so that they didnt get bored. It was hard work) Nate and Harrison finally got the room finished, and it looks fantastic. If you’re a MHC person, you should definitely drop by and take a look at it!

Since we’ve both been working hard on our various projects, I planned a surprise birthday get-away for Nate this weekend!  I booked us a night at a great Bed & Breakfast in Vicksburg, made plans for dinner on the river, and some live music.  Saturday morning we went down to a little farmers market and browsed around before heading back home. I hate that we only had 1 night away, but it was well worth it.  We were able to relax and enjoy some time together with no distractions.  Nate was completely surprised, and I think he really loved it!  I’ll post some pics soon.

In the mean time, I’m going to spend the afternoon at MHC’s SummerFest, enjoying good food, great friends, and LOTS of water-based activities for the kiddos.  It’s going to be fun!

Leave a Reply

