2 weeks and counting…

Well, kind of. 

I have 2 weeks until I’m done with class.  The actual get-out-of-bed-and-drive-40-mins-to-campus type class.  I will still have 1 exam and a virtual class when I’m finished with the semester, but those aren’t worth stressing about because the hard part will be over.

And just to let you know, I have decided not to walk.  Shocking, I know, since I didn’t walk in college and wouldn’t have walked in high school if I hadn’t been forced to do so.   Besides my general dislike of graduation ceremonies, I have decided not to walk for other reasons this time.  

In a way, I was looking forward to it.  I was excited about having a definitive ending to a pretty big accomplishment. Plus the graduates have their pictures in cap-and-gown put up on the wall for all of the future students to make fun of during their breaks in Summer Greek. And there are alot of people that I worked really hard with to get here, and it would have been nice to stand up there together.  So I was thinking about walking this time.

But I’ve changed my mind.

My virtual class (Pauline Epistles, a 4 credit-hour class) is due on June 19th.  And it’s a good class.  The lectures are by Knox Chamblin, and the books we’re reading are good.  Plus, the material we cover in this class is a significant chunk of the New Testament…. worth studying well. 

 However, if I want to walk, I would have to have it completed by May 10th, which would mean piling that work on top of my regular work for the semester.  I would have to plow through the material and most likely wouldn’t learn it well. It’s ALOT of work to put into the next couple of weeks, on top of what I’m already doing to finish up. 

Basically, I would be trading my sanity for a picture of myself in a cap and gown.   And I dont know about you, but I don’t really see that as a fair trade.

So, I’ve decided to finish up my regular semester work, get completely done with everything else (which is manageable in 2 weeks’ time), and then spend the next 4 or 5 weeks working just on Pauline, completely stress-free.

After THAT, we’re having a big “I’m so glad I’m finished with my Masters” party in lieu of a graduation ceremony.  And when I say “big,” I most likely mean grilling out in someone’s backyard with the few people who actually care that I’m finished with my masters.

Sounds good to me.

3 thoughts on “2 weeks and counting…

  1. Nikki, so glad you are looking out for your sanity!! We are excited for you and hope to see you guys when we get home – hugs – Deb

Leave a Reply

