We made it!

After 24 hours of travel (it ended up being 24 exactly because we had to wait on the runway in Tokyo for half an hour!), we made it to Manila at 11:30 last night.  The flights here werent bad.  The nicest one of all was actually the long one from Dallas to Tokyo.  Turns out we were connecting through Dallas, not Houston like I said. Sorry.

The worst flight was the one from Tokyo to Manila, even though it was the biggest plane.  They made up for it by smashing as many chairs in there as possible.  My knees were jamming up against the seat in front of me…and I have short legs.  You can imagine that Nate was more miserable than I was!

We came immediately to our guest house last night, and it is awesome! It’s really big, and my first thought was “I wouldnt want to be the one in charge of cleaning this thing!”  Its 2 stories with 4 bedrooms, I think, and 3 bathrooms.  It also has 2 big common areas because it is usually used for group meetings and things when teams come over to help. 

The house is in a pretty affluent neighborhood, and its really clean and safe.  We’ll probably see some of the poorer areas of town this afternoon. 

We’re about to go change some money and exlore the area for a little while, then we’re going to a “Happy Birthday Jesus” party at one of the ABP (childrens homes).  I’m not sure what we’re doing tonight.  I’m just glad that we’re able to get up and get around today.  No jet lag!!

Anyway, I’ll take lots of pictures today and upload them.  For now, keep praying!  We’re really hoping for lots of opportunities to learn about this culture and share our faith. 

We’re having a great time!!

2 thoughts on “We made it!

  1. Yay! I’ve been checking this thing all day! So glad you are there and feeling good! Can’t wait for updates!

  2. Awwww, I’m so glad yall made it safe! I am so jealous, I wish I could be there with you! Please love on those precious kids for me! :) They will forever have my heart! Enjoy girl, let your heart soar and flourish in the midst of God’s beloved, yet very oppressed people over there! They are precious! I love hearing your heart! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

