I thought I’d never see the day…

Despite the fact that the garage sale was over 3 days ago, I’m still decluttering. Mainly because I didnt finish in time, but also because I’M ON A FREAKIN’ ROLL, Y’ALL. 

So I’m still working on it, and I’m just donating everything, because there’s no way I’m going to try to organize another garage sale anytime soon.  I finished the majority of my cleaning/sorting/tossing before last Saturday, but there are still a few areas that need to be tackled.  I’m trying to do one area each day.

Yesterday was the bookshelves.

Scratch that. 

Yesterday was the boxes of books that I have still not unpacked from when we moved in January, but which are supposed to be on the bookshelves.

NOT THE BOOKS! oh yes.

"But Nikki," you say, "you’re the biggest bibliophile I know… you keep EVERY BOOK YOU’VE EVER LAID EYES ON."

I know. But no longer.  Sad, isnt it?  (Unless you’re Nate… who is practically jumping for joy). It was time.

So last night, while Nate was studying Greek like a good little seminary student, I unpacked box after box of books and sorted them into two piles: "Keep" and "Donate."

Y’all, I might as well have been ripping my heart out.

I kept saying "I can’t believe I’m doing this." and "My undergrad professors would be so disappointed." and "Is it hot in here to you?"  But then I realized that I was just having a mini panic attack from the thought of losing over half of my library, and that the temperature in the room was actually totally normal.

And Nate kept saying "I’m trying to study."

He totally had no compassion for me during such a traumatic time. None.

But anyway.  Now I can (almost) fit all of my books onto our 2 bookshelves plus the little stand/bakers rack in my office.  DID YOU HEAR ME? I can almost fit my entire library onto TWO BOOKSHELVES. That’s dispicable. Inconceivable. (Ha, now I’m quoting The Princess Bride in my head!)

And sorry, Ford, but I kept all of my books pertaining to religion, Christianity, seminary, etc.  So you can’t have them.  The majority of what I’m getting rid of are fiction, history, and children’s/teen’s books.  My library now consists of ministry related books, a few novels written by my favorite authors, and a few select fiction books that I tend read again and again.  So if you want any books before I take them to the Madison Library and drop them off, I have about 15 boxes sitting right inside my front door. Otherwise I’m dropping them off tomorrow.

Oh no, here comes that panic attack again.

 

Leave a Reply

