Cowboy-ification

I used to have a thing for cowboys.  My family can testify to that. Well, really, thing isnt really the right word. Obsession probably fits better.  And I use the phrase "used to" loosely.  Which is why I used to go to the Dixie National Rodeo every year. 

Actually, the rodeo predated my cowboy obsession, so maybe that’s to blame. Hmmm… I’ve never thought about that before.

Anyway. I havent been in years because Nate is choc-full of yankee blood and doesnt really understand cowboy hats or chaps or wranglers or denim shirts or or boots.  Plus maybe its a little weird to go watch a bunch of men dressed up in outfits that you happen to know your wife has (used to have) a thing for. But I think its more the yankee thing.

Needless to say, it’s been about 6 years since I’ve been to the rodeo. I mentioned it this year, but he was legitimately busy, so it didnt work out. One of these years, though, he’s not going to be able to come up with an excuse, and I’m going to drag him out there and cowboy-ify him.  Just you watch.

Although I think that if I was going to do a real job of cowboy-ifying him, I might have to kick it up a notch. Maybe the Dixie National wouldnt cut it. Maybe I’d have to try something along the lines of the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo. I mean c’mon, it has the word Wrangler in the title…. how much more cowboy can it get?

I mean you see things like this:

rodeo.jpg

Does that look boring to you?? I didnt think so.

Maybe I should just get him some WNFR tickets to Vegas for his birthday and see where it takes us.  Maybe that would be the key to complete cowboy-ification.  Maybe a few years down the road I could look out my front window and see this in my yard:

cowboy%20and%20baby.jpg

Except that would be Nate and the little guy would be my kid (instead of the husband and kid of The Pioneer Woman).

Actually, now that I think about it, I think I’d rather Nate not change a bit.  The cowboy obsession isnt really around anymore  (Although if Nate came home in denim and chaps, it could come back around pretty quick). I wouldnt mind going to the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo, though.  Maybe I really should look into WNFR Tickets for his birthday…. Hey, he couldn’t turn down a trip to Vegas!

3 thoughts on “Cowboy-ification

  1. You know anytime you want to go to the rodeo, all you have to do is tell me. You know you have a buddy who has tickets every year for every night. And as for the NFR, Channing knows the only way he’ll get me to Vegas is to take me during that time, so let’s make a group trip!

  2. You make me laugh! What is it about cowboys that seems so wonderful? My cowboy peak came after watching "8 Seconds". I was so obsessed with that movie! Oh, and I love The Pioneer Woman too!! :)

Leave a Reply

