A Day of (not so much) Rest

I am totally and utterly exhausted. Sundays are busy busy busy now, which is a good thing because I’m doing something I totally love…but it still wears me out.  We have such an awesome group of kids in our church, and I’m so blessed to have the opportunity to play a part in their lives.  But it still takes alot of work.  I left the house at 7am this morning to go help setup the nursery (we’re meeting in a high-school so we have to do set-up and take-down every week). Nate had music practice at 8. Church started at 9:30, Sunday school at 11, we came home around 12:30 for lunch.  We went to see Luke at 3 for an hour, then to the church/school at 4 so Nate could do music practice and I could do nursery inventory. Dinner with the congregation at 5, service at 6 (I take the kids and we have our own activities), then take-down aftewards.  We get home around 7:45ish. The hardest part, I guess, is that I have to be "on" all day, whether its setting up, answering questions, playing with kids, meeting new parents, checking on classrooms…. its always something. So when I get home I crash.

I’m taking medicine to keep me from coughing at night.  I was sick for about 2 weeks and coughing so much at night that Nate had to sleep in the guest room (or either I slept on the couch) for awhile.  Once I got to the point where I was running on about 2-3 hours of sleep a night, I called Fabulous Dr. Brad and had him call me in some uberstrong cough/sleep medicine.  This stuff is like miracle-in-a-bottle.  I take it, stop coughing within about 20 mins, then drop off into a coma for 8 hours.  Its hard to wake up (this morning Nate had to practically push me off the bed when my alarm went off) and I usually mutter gibberish for a few minutes, but when I do finally get up I’m not groggy at all and totally raring to go.  Plus I no longer hear the dogs barking at night or feel Stupidcat marching across the top of the bed.  I sleep harder than I ever have in my life.  If it wasnt such an addictive narcotic, I would be tempted to take it forever.

Now that you understand those two things, you understand why I really really am excited about going to bed right now.

Leave a Reply

