Marriage and Prayer Intro / Day 1

I introduced this series a little last night, although I didnt get into it much because I was so tired.  I should have known that I would be in a similar state by this time tonight also and planned accordingly, but I think that far in advance. Oh well.

I am starting a series today on Marriage and Prayer.  "Why those two topics?" you ask, "They don’t seem to go together." Au contraire.  If there’s one thing Ive learned in the past almost-3-years, its that those two things go together better than peas and carrots. This is actually something that I’ve learned even more in the past 4 months, due to my Weekly Prayer Schedule, which (as promised) will be posted about soon so that you can have the information as a resource if you want it.

I’m choosing to put these two topics together because God has chosen to teach me alot about these two things lately, and He’s teaching me alot about these two things at the same time.  That makes me think that there’s a good chance that I wasn’t noticing the correlation between the two in the way that He would like for me to.  Of course, I know that you should pray for your marriage, and that you should pray as huband and wife, which Nate and I try to do. (As I mentioned yesterday, our daily prayer times don’t coincide, so that has proven to be a difficult thing for us.  We try to remember to spend time in prayer together before we go to sleep at night, but we don’t always). But God has been slowly revealing little (actually, BIG) things to me lately about prayer and marriage, and how the two correlate in ways that I’d never thought of before.  But he’s also been teaching me about prayer in general, as well as about marriage in general.  Since these are the 2 things that seem to be on my mind lately (in addition to seminary and childrens ministry), this is what I want to talk about for the next little while. Of course, what I post about prayer might not always be directly related to marriage, and vice versa.  We’ll just see what happens.

I won’t promise that I’ll post something big every day, because I might not.  I won’t promise everything that I post will be some new and intriguing idea, because it won’t be.  I won’t even promise that you’ll find everything that I say about this as interesting, because there’s a good chance that you’re alot more mature than I am and that you’ve struggled through this already in your own marriage and come out the other side.  All I’ll promise is that I will be as honest as I can and that I’ll try to write what I’m learning as clearly as possible. I will also promise that I will cover all of this thoroughly in prayer.

I do want to preface this by saying that I am not naive enough or proud enough to think that I’ve got this all together after a mere 2-and-a-half years of marriage.  I will say that I have worked harder at my marriage than anything else that I’ve ever done in my life, and that I am happier in my relationship with Nate than I am in any other relationship that I have.  I don’t think that those two things are unrelated. 

Don’t worry, I’m not going to be sitting here giving advice… I don’t think I’m experienced enough or wise enough for that.  I am just going to try to straightforwardly put forth what God is teaching me through my marriage and my prayer life in hopes that it will somehow encourage you.  If nothing else, it gives me a record of my thoughts so that I can look back and remember these important lessons.

There’s my big disclaimer. That said, I hope that you’ll take all of this with the grain of salt with which it’s intended and bare with me. This is new for both of us, so just sit tight.

For tomorrow:

Day 2: Pray that your husband’s relationship with God and His word will bear fruit in his life.  Pray that he will be a man of wisdom and understanding, fearing the Lord.

Scripture for meditation/prayer:

Prov. 3:7- Be not wise in your own eyes. Fear the Lord; turn away from evil.

Prov. 9:10- The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is insight.

Ps. 112:1- Praise the Lord! Blessed is the man who fears the Lord, who greatly delights in his commandments!

Leave a Reply

