I’m Back!

We returned from Hanover, PA last night to find that Treasure (the 13 year old Golden Retriever) was nowhere to be found and with no idea how long she’d been gone.  We scoured the neighborhood for about an hour, me on foot with Leia on a leash, Nate circling in his truck.  I called all of the animal hospitals/shelters in the area and left messages on their machines that she was gone and to call if she’d been brought in.  Finally, Nate called the police station and asked how to get ahold of Animal Control.  They said they’d had a golden turned in a few days before and had a picture of her at the station. We drove out, identified her, and brought her home.  After spending 2 days alone in a small pen out in the cold, she was really excited to be home…she didnt let Nate take his hands off of her for about an hour.  Scary night, since she’s an old dog and its cold out there.  She’d made it all the way to Strawberry Patch Park and had been picked up on Sunday. I have no idea how she got that far, but I’m just glad she didn’t get hit.  We still don’t know how she got out – no holes in the fence, gates were shut, and the holes Annabeth sneaks out of are way too small for Treasure to crawl through. Plus she’s too old to jump over the top. No clue how she got out.

Anyway, Hanover was amazing, like always.  It’s always so fun when we get to hang out with Nate’s extended familiy since we hardly get to see them.  I took some pictures which I’ll upload later. I read like 4 books while the men watched football, so that was nice too. I will say, however, that it is nice to sleep in my own bed again.

Now back to the mountain of laundry I brought home with me.

Happy New Year!

One thought on “I’m Back!

  1. hey nikki,Thanks for the encouragement I received while reading your new years resolutions. I need to put some solid thought to the things on my heart. I went to a conference called URBANA in St. Louis last week and it was one of the most incredible things I have ever experienced. It was a missions conference targeted to college and grad students. Think how amazing it would be worship with 22,000 people from 140 different countries, many different denominations and everyone putting aside their differences to worship Christ. One of the most amazing things I’ve seen. hope you and Nate are doing well. I thought of ya’ll yesterday as I passed Hamils on Highway 51.have a great day!Rob

Leave a Reply

