August 7, 2006 ~ Monday Evening

Thanks for the great response regarding the FlyLady post.  I had lots of people tell me in conversations, emails, comments on here, etc. that they had looked it up and it was already helping them.  Thanks for letting me share something great with you!

On that note, I think that the reason that I’ve taken to FlyLady so quickly and easily is because I thrive on consistency.  Unfortunately, that isnt something that I’ve known for my whole life.  It took me a while to be able to put a finger on what it is that keeps me from having my little "minnow attacks" and keeps me sane.  It’s consistency.  FlyLady has her routines and guidelines and lists – everything is always the same.  No surprises, no chaos, nothing unexpected.   I love routine and tradition and structure.  I love knowing that things are in control – it doesn’t have to be MY control, but control nonetheless.  I like feeling safe and comfortable.  I like to trust. I don’t like chaos and uncertainty and surprises. I hate suspense and fear and tension.  I don’t like waves.   Call me boring if you want, but that’s me.  That’s why my favorite verse is Lamentations 3:22-23 (at the top of this page).  It glorifies the consistency of God. That’s a trait that is praised throughout the Bible, and one that I am most grateful for.  God was, and is, and will be.  That little fact gives me unbelievable peace.  He’s not changing, and I don’t have to worry about it.

Now that I’ve got the house in order and routines in place, our next step is finances.  Tonight Natey worked out a budget for us with everything in its nice little category.  I think that since the rest of my world has a little structure to it, I should be able to stick to this.  I never have in the past, but hopefully this time will be the one that sticks.  I’ll let you know how that one goes.  Since Nate has been so good at helping me in all of my new betterment-aspirations, I should be able to show just as much enthusiasm about his…. right?

Okay, topic change:  I started reading this book on Friday.book.jpg 

Man & Woman in Biblical Perspective by James B. Hurley

Jim Hurley is the head of Marriage and Family at RTS Jackson (Reformed Theological Seminary).  I’ve been wrestling with the concept of biblical submission and what biblical wifehood (is that a word??) is.  A trusted friend gave me this book, and I haven’t been able to put it down.  It talks about womanhood in general: women in worship, women in the OT vs women in the NT, relationships between women and men, and more.   Very thorough, very historical, very interesting.  You should read it if you ever get a chance.

Quick News:  1. Jane Bradley (my new niece) is doing fabulous, as are her parents. 2. The first public worship service for the church plant (Madison Heights Church, PCA) is going to be September 10th at 9:30am at St. Joe’s Catholic High School.  We’d love to have you.  3. Don’t forget that this is the month of birthdays!

Have a wonderful night.

Leave a Reply

